No Right to UM Coverage if You are not an Insured
Barry Zalma
Oct 9, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/dpBuaP68 and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/dnS_vXi2 and at https://lnkd.in/dj7SkapX and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4600 posts.
WRIT PRACTICE OFTEN UNSUCCESSFUL BUT NOT ALWAYS
The Louisiana Court of Appeals was asked to do what it normally would not do: determine if the trial court erred in denying a motion for summary judgment filed by Employers Mutual Casualty Company before trial (“Employers Mutual”). In Lee Mallahan, III v. Employers Mutual Casualty Co., et al, No. 55,136-CW, Court of Appeals of Louisiana, Second Circuit (September 27, 2023) Employers received its request.
FACTS
On June 1, 2020, Erick Guevara (“Guevara”), drove to Mallahan’s house who was standing in the driveway picking up worms from the pavement and throwing them into the grass, only to strike Mallahan with Guevera’s truck. Mallahan alleged the pickup truck knocked him into the air and caused him to lose consciousness. Mallahan sued on April 21, 2021 and named as defendants Guevera and Employers Mutual.
As the managing member and an employee of Tadpole, LLC (“Tadpole”), Mallahan alleged that Employers Mutual provided “insurance coverage, excess coverage, umbrella coverage, or other coverage” for Mallahan’s damages.
Employers Mutual filed a motion for summary judgment and urged no uninsured/underinsured (“UM”) coverage existed for Mallahan’s injuries under the terms of the commercial auto policy or the commercial umbrella policy issued to Tadpole.
The trial court ordered that Mallahan raised genuine issues of material fact and denied the motion. Employers Mutual Sought a writ from the Court of Appeals to order the trial court to grant its motion for summary judgment.
DISCUSSION
Employers Mutual urged that, because it made a showing that Mallahan was not an insured under the policies issued to Tadpole there was no genuine issue of material fact to preclude the granting of summary judgment.
A genuine issue is one about which reasonable people could disagree. A material fact is one that potentially ensures or precludes recovery, affects the ultimate success of the litigant, or determines the outcome of the dispute. Because it is the applicable substantive law that determines materiality, whether a particular fact in dispute is material for summary judgment purposes can be seen only in light of the substantive law applicable to the case.
Summary judgment declaring a lack of coverage under an insurance policy may not be rendered unless there is no reasonable interpretation of the policy, when applied to the undisputed material facts shown by the evidence supporting the motion, under which coverage could be afforded.
The extent of coverage is determined from the intent of the parties as reflected by the words of the insurance policy. For Mallahan to be insured under the commercial auto policy, he must be using Tadpole’s covered vehicle that Tadpole owned, hired, or borrowed with Tadpole’s permission. The undisputed facts established that Mallahan was not using any automobile at the time of the accident. As a result, Mallahan is not entitled to UM benefits as he would not be considered an insured for purposes of Tadpole’s Employers Mutual commercial auto policy.
Tadpole’s Employers Mutual commercial umbrella policy required that to be considered an insured under this policy, Mallahan must use, with permission, one of Tadpole’s covered autos that he did not personally own.
The policies were clear: Mallahan was not qualified as an insured; Tadpole was the named insured. Furthermore, Mallahan was not using a covered auto with Tadpole’s permission when the accident occurred. In fact, no use of a vehicle was involved on Mallahan’s part. Instead, Mallahan was standing in his driveway throwing worms into the grass when Guevara’s Chevy truck came into contact with Mallahan’s person.
Employers Mutual’s policies clearly define who is considered an “insured” under the policies and who is entitled to UM coverage. A contrary interpretation of the policy language would be unreasonable. The Court of Appeals concluded that the policies must be enforced as written. As a result of its analysis the Court of Appeals concluded that Employers Mutual’s writ application needed to be, and was, granted. The trial court was ordered to grant Employers Mutual’s summary judgment motion and to dismiss Mallahan’s claims against Employers Mutual.
ZALMA OPINION
Contracts of insurance are interesting documents. They tell the parties to the contract what will happen in the event of injury to an insured, who is insured, and what benefits were available. Mr. Mallahan was severely injured when he – as a pedestrian standing in his own driveway – was not an insured of the Employers Mutual policy and was not entitled to UM/UIM coverage.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g; Go to videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://lnkd.in/g2hGv88; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gYq44VM
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith
Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma
A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.
Post 4568
In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.
The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...