Insurer Should Get Premium for Waiver of Subrogation
Barry Zalma
Oct 5, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g7Sbh7Jp and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvzb8SdX and at https://lnkd.in/g6N-AUFH and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4650 posts.
Evanston Insurance appealed from a judgment entered after the trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Southern California Edison Company (SCE) and against Evanston Insurance Company (Evanston) as to Evanston’s claims for equitable subrogation, equitable indemnity, restitution, and declaratory relief.
In Evanston Insurance Company v. Southern California Edison Company, B320392, California Court of Appeals, (September 29, 2023) Evanston contributed $25 million to settle claims by property owners against its insured, The Original Mowbray’s Tree Service, Inc. (Mowbray’s), which was a subcontractor of Utility Tree Service, Inc. (UTS) under UTS’s contract with SCE to manage certain vegetation proximate to SCE’s equipment.
According to Evanston, the property owners’ claims arose out of a wildfire they alleged was caused by a tree hitting power lines that were owned and operated by SCE. Evanston asserted that the wildfire resulted solely from SCE’s negligence.
In its motion for summary judgment, SCE argued that the following waiver provision in Mowbray’s subcontract with UTS barred Evanston’s claims: “Subcontractor [(Mowbray’s)] waives and will require all of its insurers to waive all rights of recovery against Contractor [(UTS)] or the Owner [(SCE)], their affiliates, their directors, officers and employees, whether in contract, tort (including negligence and strict liability) or otherwise.” The trial court agreed and entered judgment in SCE’s favor.
On appeal, Evanston contended the waiver provision is ambiguous and that the trial court erred in failing to analyze separately whether SCE’s waiver defense applied to Evanston’s equitable indemnity and restitution causes of action. Regardless, the Court of Appeals concluded that the plain language and context of the waiver provision demonstrated that the provision unambiguously precludes Evanston’s equitable subrogation claim against SCE.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
In February 2015, a wildland fire ignited in Bishop, California on property owned by the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (Round Fire). Evanston alleged that property owners and their subrogated insurers filed at least 10 lawsuits in the aftermath of the Round Fire to recover damages. Evanston asserts that the plaintiffs in the lead action (underlying action) alleged that the fire was caused by a tree (subject tree) that contacted power lines owned and operated by SCE.
The subcontractor agreement included the obligation to carry $41 million per occurrence in insurance coverage.
Evanston alleged that during the underlying action, SCE, which claimed to be an additional insured under the policy, repeatedly threatened to bring a bad faith action if Evanston did not pay the full amount of the policy and it under pressure agreed to contribute the $25 million policy limit to a settlement and reserved its rights to pursue full recovery from SCE ignoring the waiver provision of the contract and Evanston’s policy wording.
The trial court heard and granted SCE’s motion for summary judgment.
APPLICABLE INSURANCE LAW
A judgment or order of a lower court is presumed to be correct on appeal, and all intendments and presumptions are indulged in favor of its correctness. Evanston bore the burden of rebutting the presumption of correctness accorded to the trial court’s decision, regardless of the applicable standard of review.
APPLICABLE SUBROGATION PRINCIPLES
In the case of insurance, subrogation takes the form of an insurer’s right to be put in the position of the insured in order to pursue recovery from third parties legally responsible to the insured for a loss which the insurer has both insured and paid.
An insured’s contractual waiver defeats an insurer’s subrogation claim.
DISCUSSION
The waiver provision at issue appears in exhibit B of the agreement, which is a two-page document entitled “Insurance.” On the first page and under the subheading “Subcontractor’s Insurance” (boldface & underscoring omitted), the subcontract required the “Subcontractor” to “obtain and maintain” certain specified “policies of insurance ….” It provided that the subcontractor waived all of its rights against SCE and that its insurer agreed to the waiver.
The context of the waiver provision supports the conclusion that it encompasses claims against SCE that Mowbray’s would otherwise have been able to transfer to its insurers. In sum the plain language of the waiver provision unambiguously foreclosed Evanston’s equitable subrogation claim against SCE.
The waiver provision was presumably available for Evanston’s review when it underwrote the insurance policy for Mowbray’s and it agreed to support the waiver.
Because The Waiver Provision Is Unambiguous, The Court Rejected Evanston’s Arguments Supporting Its Construction Of The Provision
When a dispute arises over the meaning of contract language, the first question to be decided is whether the language is “reasonably susceptible” to the interpretation urged by the party. If it is not, the case is over. Because the Court of Appeals concluded for the reasons set forth above that the waiver provision’s reference to “all rights of recovery against Contractor or the Owner” unambiguously included Evanston’s equitable subrogation rights against SCE.
The judgment was affirmed. Respondent Southern California Edison Company is awarded its costs on appeal.
ZALMA OPINION
Insurers like Evanston issuing general liability policies often, if not invariably, agree to waive the insurer’s right to subrogation. Evanston’s policy allowed for the waiver and had no more rights than its insured who had waived the right by a clear and unambiguous contract and caused its insurer, Evanston, to include the waiver. Evanston tried to change the meaning of the contract on appeal but was unable to explain why it had agreed to the waiver before the issuance of the policy.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog.
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...