Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
September 20, 2023
Imperfect Investigation Not Bad Faith

Insurer that Pays Limit of Policy After Appraisal Did not Breach The Covenant of Good Faith & Fair Dealing

Barry Zalma
Sep 20, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g-pQU7pr and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gV8Yt-F2 and at https://lnkd.in/gjaR-PCv and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4600 posts.

Insurer that Pays Limit of Policy After Appraisal Did not Breach The Covenant of Good Faith & Fair Dealing

Washington Street, LLC (“Washington Street”) appealed a District Court order granting summary judgment to Nationwide Property and Casualty Insurance Company (“Nationwide”), which ended Washington Street’s claims that Nationwide proceeded in bad faith in delaying claim payments following a fire that damaged Washington Street’s property.

In Washington Street, LLC v. Nationwide Property & Casualty Insurance Company, No. 22-3396, United States Court of Appeals, Third Circuit (September 13, 2023) the Third Circuit resolved the dispute.

BACKGROUND

In July 2019, a fire caused by a tenant’s negligence destroyed an apartment building owned by Washington Street. Washington Street promptly submitted a claim for recovery to its insurer, Nationwide. Some six weeks later, in September 2019, Nationwide provided an initial claim estimate and payment, after Washington Street’s attorney complained about the pace of the investigation.

That initial payment ($376,342.95) was, as Nationwide acknowledged, incomplete, as it was subject to change based on additional repairs or damage found. In October 2019, Washington Street provided estimates for repairs not covered in Nationwide’s initial report. Nationwide reviewed those estimates and hired a consultant to review the entire project. The consultant completed his assessment in January 2020, estimating the total cost of repairs to be $635,898.86, after which Nationwide paid an additional $208,555.91, an amount the parties accepted as bringing the total payments to $584,907.68.

Washington Street was dissatisfied with that amount and demanded an impartial appraisal of the total loss. Nationwide cooperated by hiring an appraiser. Washington Street also hired an appraiser, and the two appraisers appointed an “umpire” to resolve any disagreements. In November 2020, the umpire entered an award for Washington Street: $859,670.03 for dwelling loss, $7,720.05 for business personal property, $35,306.40 for debris removal, and $74,200 for loss of income. The total amount exceeded Washington Street’s policy limit of $854,700 for dwelling loss, $60,000 for business income, and $25,000 for debris removal, and Nationwide paid the full policy amount.

During the appraisal, on June 3, 2020, Nationwide filed a subrogation lawsuit against the tenant who had negligently caused the fire. The subrogation investigation began in July 2019, but Nationwide did not inform Washington Street of the lawsuit until January 14, 2021. Eventually, Nationwide obtained a settlement that resulted in Washington Street receiving an additional $15,000, an amount Washington Street described as “fair and acceptable.”

Washington Street sued. After discovery, Nationwide moved for summary judgment and the District Court granted it. The Court held that Nationwide’s handling of Washington Street’s claim was “by no means a model of perfection” but it did not constitute bad faith.

DISCUSSION

Washington Street claims that Nationwide demonstrated bad faith by delaying six weeks to make its first partial payout, failing to make further estimates until Washington Street pressed for progress, hiring a building consultant for the alleged purpose of further delaying the process, making a still-deficient payment six months after the fire, knowingly misrepresenting its appraisal policy, delaying its policy reformation request, and filing its subrogation action prematurely.

Pennsylvania provides a statutory remedy if an insurer acts in bad faith toward the insured. Bad faith requires evidence so clear, direct, weighty and convincing as to enable a clear conviction, without hesitation, about whether or not the defendants acted in bad faith. At the summary judgment stage, the insured’s burden in opposing a summary judgment motion brought by the insurer is commensurately high because the court must view the evidence presented in light of the substantive evidentiary burden at trial.

Nationwide promptly investigated Washington Street’s claim, and its claims specialist visited the burned building soon after the site was deemed safe.

So too, Nationwide’s delay of six weeks in providing the first payment appears reasonable. On August 26, 2019, the claims specialist wrote, the fact is it is a large building and although I have spent days estimating, it has been a slow process. Nationwide’s first payment included a detailed estimate of property damage that was admittedly underinclusive and left the door open for Washington Street to submit further estimates once repairs got underway. Washington Street did not initiate any repairs, however.

The District Court noted, “Nationwide probably could have been more diligent,” but that doesn’t mean that Nationwide’s pace of review was unreasonable, much less that it showed disregard for Washington Street’s contractual rights.

Therefore, Washington Street did not show by clear and convincing evidence – the applicable standard of proof – that Nationwide acted in bad faith in processing Washington Street’s insurance claim.

ZALMA OPINION

The tort of bad faith requires a breach of contract by an insurer that provides clear, direct, weighty and convincing evidence sufficient to enable a clear conviction, without hesitation that the insurer acted in bad faith. The evidence did not exist to establish the required clear and convincing evidence of wrong doing it only reflected a claim that took time and expertise to resolve.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf or at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gYq44VM

00:09:14
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals