Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
September 12, 2023
Unwritten Intent Uninforceable

Ambiguous Policy Language Forces Insurer to Pay Losses It Did not Intend to Cover

Barry Zalma
Sep 12, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gU_Q_GMb and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gj3hmxzn and at https://lnkd.in/gnNnseZZ and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4600 posts.

INSURER HOIST ON ITS OWN PETARD

Insurers often complain that their insureds do not read the insurance policy and compel them to fulfill all policy terms or receive nothing. In my experience almost no one reads an insurance policy until there is a dispute over a claim. In Michigan an insurer did not read the policy it issued.

In Village Of Kalkaska v. Michigan Municipal League Liability And Property Pool, No. 359267, Court of Appeals of Michigan (August 31, 2023) a policy was issued to the Village that provided – by fairly clear language – coverage the insurer did not intend to provide and as a result found it obligated to pay claims for millions of dollars.

Michigan Municipal League Liability and Property Pool appealed the trial court’s order denying its motion for summary disposition claiming that its intent was to exclude coverage for the losses claimed by the Village.

FACTS

In 1996, plaintiff, Village of Kalkaska, contracted with certain of its employees to provide lifetime retirement health benefits. In 2014, plaintiff determined that the obligation to provide lifetime retirement health benefits to the employees was prohibitively expensive. Plaintiff therefore adopted a resolution ending its agreement to pay the employees lifetime retirement health benefits.

Four of the affected employees sued plaintiff for breach of contract. In one of the lawsuits, a jury awarded the employee present and future damages. Plaintiff thereafter settled the lawsuits with the other three employees for present and future damages. Plaintiff asserts that thus far the cost of resolving the lawsuits is nearly $2,000,000.

Defendant is “a non-profit self-insurance pool owned and governed by its members” that provides liability insurance to numerous Michigan municipalities. The policy provided plaintiff with various types of coverage, including coverage for liability in the administration of its employee benefits program.

Defendant moved for summary disposition on the basis that the policy does not provide coverage for plaintiff’s intentional breach of its contract with its employees.

DISCUSSION

An insurance policy provision is valid if it is clear, unambiguous, and not in contravention of public policy. If a contract does not violate the law or a traditional defense to enforceability, a court is required to apply the unambiguous provisions of the contract as written because an unambiguous contract reflects the intent of the parties as a matter of law.

THE TRIAL COURT’S DECISION

The trial court first determined that the policy provides coverage, but then concluded that ambiguity in the policy necessitated submitting the matter to the jury. The trial court concluded that because the question was a close one, a genuine issue of material fact existed whether the Village was engaged in the administration of a benefits program when it terminated the employees’ lifetime retirement health benefits. Since a decision to terminate an employee benefit plan may qualify as a negligent act, error, or omission which causes a termination or cancellation of an employee under an employee benefit plan the Court noted that defendant made a strong argument that the wholesale termination may not be as comparable to administering under the plan, nothing within the contract of insurance that has been drafted by the defendant appears to allow for the distinction, even if it’s a good argument because it simply says, “effecting enrollment, termination, or cancellation of employees.”

The trial court concluded that no exclusions from coverage applied, but because it was a close question it was therefore ambiguous.

PUBLIC POLICY

Defendant contended that regardless of the policy language, defendant obviously did not intend to assume any and all contractual liabilities upon which plaintiff chooses to intentionally default.

Defendant argued that it did not agree to pay plaintiff’s contractual obligations, but only to pay damages arising from plaintiff’s wrongful acts in administrating its employee benefits program, i.e., damages arising from plaintiff’s breach of its contract obligations under its employee benefits program.

The claim in this case allows plaintiff intentionally to shift its contractual obligation to defendant. By so doing it provides an unreasonable result not intended by defendant. But the intent of the parties is determined by the unambiguous policy language as a matter of law and a court may not fail to enforce a contract on the basis of reasonableness.

Therefore, the trial court erred by finding an issue of material fact for the jury; the trial court should have found that the policy provides coverage and granted summary disposition for the plaintiff and the Court of Appeals reversed and remanded for entry of judgment for plaintiff.

ZALMA OPINION

The greatest sin that an insurer can commit is to write an insurance policy that is ambiguous and that, as a result, provides a coverage it did not intend. In this case, because of the weakness of the policy language the insurer finds itself obligated to pay for a run-of-the-mill breach of contract, something no insurance company would intentionally cover. Insurers who usually insist on its insureds reading the policy as issued should not complain when it failed to read the policy it delivered to the insured in a manner understandable and unambiguous.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf or at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gYq44VM

00:09:26
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
12 hours ago
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
October 13, 2026

Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property

Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma

When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved

A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property

Post 4862

In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026)  Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”

In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...

post photo preview
October 09, 2026
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4860

In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.

In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.

LAW

Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals