Premature Denial for Failure to Appear at EUO Fails
Barry Zalma
Aug 30, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gs8YidkC and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gN_kdVsp and at https://lnkd.in/gbdpbQwa and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4600 posts.
In March 2021, an arsonist destroyed a building on the Brockton Fair fairgrounds known as the “State Building,” owned by BAS Holding Corporation (“BAS”) and, according to BAS, insured against loss by Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company (“Philadelphia”). Philadelphia undertook an investigation to determine coverage. The insurer sought an examination under oath (“EUO”) of George Carney, the president and owner of BAS, scheduled the EUO and denied the claim before the scheduled date.
In Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company v. BAS Holding Corporation, Brockton Agricultural Society, No. 22-1296, United States Court of Appeals, First Circuit (August 17, 2023) the First Circuit recognized that a requirement for EUO must be reasonable and the claimed premature denial was probably not reasonable.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
Philadelphia sued seeking a declaration that BAS breached the insurance policy’s EUO condition. In its answer, BAS denied that it had refused to submit to an EUO. On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district court granted judgment for Philadelphia on the ground that BAS failed to cooperate by not providing Carney for an EUO. BAS appealed.
BAS is the record owner of the State Building, a landmark building located on the Brockton Fair fairgrounds in Brockton, Massachusetts. The interior of the building was mostly open space used for exhibits or storage at the annual agricultural fair. The fire set by the arsonist on March 17, 2021, caused a total loss of the structure. The remains of the building were razed that same day.
At the time of the fire, BAS held a policy (the “Policy”) issued by Philadelphia that BAS claimed covered the State Building. BAS gave notice of the fire to Philadelphia mere hours after it broke out. As its investigation unfolded, Philadelphia became convinced that the State Building may not be insured under the Policy and wrote a “reservation of rights” letter to BAS.
On June 16, 2021, Philadelphia also sought an EUO of BAS in accordance with the Policy’s EUO condition. Philadelphia did not ask BAS to produce any specific person for the EUO. Instead, Philadelphia asked BAS to designate someone who could answer questions relating to eight enumerated topics.
BAS presented Susan Rodrigues as its designee to attend the EUO. The president of BAS, Carney, testified in his deposition that “Sue [Rodrigues] . . . and Joe Cappucci, they handled all the insurance.” She did “everything” to help put on the fair and also oversaw maintenance work on the fairgrounds and buildings throughout the year, including the State Building.
During her examination, Rodrigues identified six people – five maintenance workers and Carney – who might be able to provide additional information in response to BAS’s questions. On August 4, the day after Rodrigues appeared for her EUO, Philadelphia sent an email to BAS’s counsel requesting EUOs of the six individuals she identified as potentially having additional relevant information. In that email, Philadelphia specifically asked for Carney to appear for an EUO on August 19, 2021. Pointing to Policy language stating that Philadelphia could only take an EUO if it is “reasonably required,” BAS wrote that Philadelphia’s request for six additional examinations under oath was improper and was not permitted by the Policy or law, particularly where Philadelphia has still not identified a factual basis upon which it has reserved its rights, and the information produced to date establishes that coverage is owed under the Policy for the loss.
According to Philadelphia, this email constituted a second refusal of BAS to produce Carney for an EUO. On August 13, less than 72 hours after sending the August 10 email, and before BAS had sent any response, Philadelphia sent an email denying BAS’s insurance claim for “refusing Philadelphia’s requests for Examinations Under Oath. The email stated, in relevant part: “BAS’s refusal to participate in the EUOs [that counsel] requested on August 4, 2021 constitutes a material breach of the Insured’s obligations under the policy and reflects its continuing failure to cooperate in Philadelphia’s investigation or settlement of the claim.”
ANALYSIS
Under Massachusetts law, attendance at reasonably requested EUOs is a condition precedent for insurance coverage. Thus, the question before the First Circuit was a narrow one: did the district court rule correctly — as a matter of law — that BAS willfully and without excuse refused Philadelphia’s request for an EUO of Carney, thereby breaching the insurance contract?
The timeline of Philadelphia’s denial weighs heavily against any conclusion that BAS refused to produce Carney for an EUO. On August 3, Rodrigues appeared for an EUO on behalf of BAS. On August 4, Philadelphia asked for EUOs of Carney and the maintenance workers. On August 4 and August 9, BAS sent emails that, read together, requested further information before submitting to additional EUOs. On August 10, Philadelphia wrote to BAS asking for “confirm[ation] that Mr. Carney will appear next Thursday, August 19th, for an EUO as previously requested, or [make] contact . . . to arrange for a new date, time and place within the next two weeks” and to “confirm that BAS will make the other individuals available for their EUO’s [sic] on Friday, August 20, 2021,” or on various dates thereafter. This email from Philadelphia provided some explanation as to why the interview of Carney was reasonably required.
Moreover, Rodrigues’s EUO testimony reveals that Philadelphia’s assertion that “Ms. Rodrigues . . . was in fact unable to testify about any of the topics of examination specified by [Philadelphia]” is flatly wrong. While it is clear that Rodrigues was not able to answer all of Philadelphia’s questions.
The First Circuit found that it was impossible to find on the record that BAS willfully and without excuse refused to present Carney for an EUO. In other words, Carney’s non-appearance at an EUO, especially since his first possible opportunity to appear on August 19 had not yet passed when Philadelphia notified BAS of its decision to deny coverage, in and of itself does not support the district court’s grant of summary judgment as a matter of law in favor of Philadelphia.
The entire discussion between the parties about whether there should be additional EUOs of Carney and the five maintenance workers spanned only nine days. The First Circuit vacated the district court’s grant of summary judgment for Philadelphia and remanded for further proceedings not inconsistent with the opinion.
ZALMA OPINION
I have personally taken hundreds of EUOs. I, like the First Circuit, cannot understand how an insurer can deny a claim for failure to appear on a date prior to the date scheduled for the EUO to take place. Such a denial makes no sense. I have sat with a court reporter at the time and place scheduled for an EUO and no one appeared and, thereafter denied the claim only to withdraw the denial when the witness produced an excuse like the birth of a child or the hospitalization of the witness. The failure to wait a week or two to deny the claim gained Philadelphia nothing more than the ire of the First Circuit.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...