Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 02, 2023
NY Applies Policy as Written

Construction and Development Activities Exclusion Unambiguous

Barry Zalma
Aug 2, 2023

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gEkqJTBy and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/ghzcnDAZ and at https://lnkd.in/gFjQBD4G and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

In Grenadier Realty Corp., et al. v. RLI Insurance Company, appellant, et al., No. 2020-06795, Index No. 502159/18, 2023 NY Slip Op 03910, Supreme Court of New York, Second Department (July 26, 2023) a New York Supreme Court (trial court) order requiring RLI Insurance Company to defend its insured was appealed by RLI.

The trial court order granted the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment declaring that certain losses were covered under a general liability insurance policy issued by RLI Insurance Company and that RLI Insurance Company was obligated to indemnify the plaintiffs in connection with the underlying action entitled Gargiso v Howland Hook Housing Co., Inc.

UNDERLYING ACTION AND INSURANCE CLAIM

In July 2012, Michael Gargiso allegedly was injured when he stepped in a trench which was dug as part of a construction project that had been left unfinished. Gargiso sued the property owner, Howland Hook Housing Co., and the property manager, Grenadier Realty Corp.

Grenadier, which had purchased a general liability insurance policy from the defendant RLI effective March 1, 2012 (the subject policy), sought to obtain coverage from RLI. RLI denied coverage based upon an exclusion in an endorsement to the subject policy for “bodily injury” arising out of “Construction and Development Activities.”

Thereafter, the plaintiffs sued RLI to recover damages for breach of the subject policy and for a judgment declaring that RLI is obligated to provide coverage under the policy and to indemnify the plaintiffs in connection with the underlying action.

The plaintiffs moved for summary judgment on their causes of action against RLI alleging breach of contract and for a judgment declaring that RLI was obligated to provide insurance coverage to them under the policy and to indemnify them. RLI cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as asserted against it and for a judgment declaring that it has no duty to indemnify the plaintiffs.

ANALYSIS

In determining a dispute over insurance coverage, the appellate court first looks to the language of the policy. As with any contract, unambiguous provisions of an insurance contract must be given their plain and ordinary meaning. The insurer has the burden of proving the applicability of an exclusion. If the language is doubtful or uncertain in its meaning, any ambiguity will be construed in favor of the insured and against the insurer. However, the plain meaning of a policy’s language may not be disregarded to find an ambiguity where none exists.

The RLI policy provided coverage for, among other things, damages because of “bodily injury.” The policy, however, includes a construction and development exclusion, which, as is relevant, excludes from coverage “bodily injury” resulting from “Construction and Development Activities.” Gargiso was injured when he stepped into a trench which had been dug as part of the construction activities in a parking lot on the property. RLI demonstrated that the construction and development exclusion unambiguously excluded from coverage bodily injury arising out of such construction and development activities. Therefore, RLI established that it did not have a duty to indemnify the plaintiffs in connection with the underlying action.

CONCLUSION

The Supreme Court should have denied plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment and should have granted RLI’s cross-motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as asserted against it and for a judgment declaring that RLI is not obligated to indemnify the plaintiffs in connection with the subject underlying action

The appellate court reversed, with costs. RLI Insurance Company’s cross-motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as asserted against it and for a judgment declaring that it has no duty to indemnify the plaintiffs was granted.

The appellate court then remitted the matter to the Supreme Court, Kings County, for the entry of a judgment, inter alia, declaring that RLI is not obligated to indemnify the plaintiffs in the underlying action entitled Gargiso v Howland Hook Housing Co., Inc.

ZALMA OPINION

Clear and unambiguous exclusions must, as did the appellate court, be affirmed and enforced. When you fall into a construction trench, as did Mr. Gargiso, you are the victim of construction activities that were clearly and unambiguously excluded.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.comhttps://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library\

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34

Follow me on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gBPMEyqr

00:06:49
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
23 hours ago
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals