Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 31, 2023
No Sprinklers No Coverage

Negligent Broker Saved by Exclusion

Barry Zalma
Jul 31, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g-zRDKcP and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gBWBYf8g and at https://lnkd.in/ga_xy_CB and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

Boulevard RE Holdings, LLC, (Boulevard) sued Mixon Insurance Agency, Inc., (Mixon), alleging breach of contract and negligent procurement of insurance only to find that if the policy had been issued protecting Boulevard there would be no coverage because of a clear and unambiguous exclusion requiring operative fire sprinkler systems.

In Boulevard RE Holdings, LLC v. Mixon Insurance Agency, Inc., No. 22-1895, United States Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit (July 20, 2023) the Eighth Circuit applied Missouri law to resolve the dispute.

FACTUAL HISTORY

Boulevard owned commercial property in which BMG Service Group, LLC, (BMG) operated a bar (Property). Boulevard entered into a contract for deed with BMG for the sale of the Property for $1,275,000. Under the contract, Boulevard retained the Property’s legal title until BMG paid the purchase price in full. The contract also obligated BMG to obtain, at its own expense, fire insurance in the amount of the purchase price. The insurance was to be issued in Boulevard’s name.

BMG asked its broker, Mixon, to have Boulevard listed as a “named insured, loss payee, additional insured, and mortgagee” on the insurance policy. Mixon procured the policy from Berkley Assurance Co. The policy was issued and contained an endorsement called the Fire Protective Safeguard Endorsement (Endorsement). The Endorsement required the insured to maintain a working automatic sprinkler system on the Property. The Endorsement also excluded all coverage for loss or damage by fire if the sprinkler system was inoperative.

The policy, as issued, did not list Boulevard as a “named insured, loss payee, additional insured, and mortgagee.”

Approximately one year later, the Property was destroyed by fire. At the time of the fire, the sprinkler system was inoperative.

Boulevard submitted a proof of loss to Berkley Assurance, claiming to have an interest in the property as a “lender.” The district court held that Boulevard was not entitled to recover as a mortgagee because sellers in a contract for deed are not mortgagees under Missouri law. The district court also concluded that even if Boulevard was an insured or a mortgagee, noncompliance with the Endorsement barred recovery.

BOULEVARD’S COMPLAINT AGAINST MIXON

The operative complaint raises two causes of action against Mixon: negligent failure to procure insurance and breach of contract. Under Missouri law, both causes of action require showing that the defendant caused the plaintiff to suffer damages.

The Eighth Circuit noted that on the record facts, even if Boulevard had been named as a mortgagee, coverage would still be barred because of the Endorsement.

The Endorsement required the Property to have a working sprinkler system. The Property was destroyed by a fire that occurred while the Property lacked a working sprinkler system. Indeed, had Mixon procured the Policy in precisely the manner requested by BMG, and had the Policy issued with Boulevard listed as a mortgagee or other additional insured, Boulevard would nonetheless be in the same position in which it found itself.

If the policy had issued listing Boulevard as requested, the Endorsement would still have barred coverage.

ZALMA OPINION

It is usual for insurers of restaurant and bar risks to require the presence of fire sprinkler systems. The bar that burned had no operative fire sprinkler systems and, as a result, had no available coverage for damage by fire. Boulevard, who sold the property under contract tried to avoid the condition precedent and its own negligence by failing to review the policy or insist on the fire sprinklers, by suing the broker for not naming it as an insured. The Eighth Circuit found the arguments sufficient to consider and then avoided all the arguments by concluding that if the broker did everything requested there would still be no coverage. In essence it concluded as did the great basketball announcer Chick Hearn: “No harm, no foul.”

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library\

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Go to https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM

Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gBPMEyqr

00:07:11
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals