Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 12, 2023
Multi-Unit Construction Exclusion Eliminates Coverage

Magistrate's Report Affirmed

Barry Zalma
Jul 12, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gCkXFJFZ and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gqE678ic and at https://lnkd.in/griX8Ekb and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

Midvale Indemnity Company (“Midvale”) sued Arevalos Construction Corp. (“Arevalos”), Victor Siguenza Zuniga (“Zuniga”), 625 Halsey LLC (“Halsey”), D&G Construction NY Inc. (“D&G”), and RM Construction and Development Corp. (“RM”) seeking a declaratory judgment relating to a commercial general liability insurance policy Midvale issued to Arevalos and an underlying lawsuit in New York state court, captioned Victor Siguenza Zuniga v. 625 Halsey LLC, Index No. 525911/2018 (the “Underlying Action”).

In Midvale Indemnity Company v. Arevalos Construction Corp., et al, No. 22-CV-97 (FB) (RML), United States District Court, E.D. New York (July 5, 2023) was asked to overturn the report and recommendations of the Magistrate Judge to acknowledge the default and order no coverage for defense or indemnity of anyone named in the Underlying action.

FACTS

D&G and Zuniga timely objected to the report of the Magistrate judge. These objections triggered the US District Judge's de novo review.

D&G, a subcontractor of Arevalos claiming coverage and a right to indemnification by Arevalos' insurer Midvale, and Zuniga, the injured tort claimant in the Underlying Action, has been named as defendants in this declaratory action by Midvale. D&G and Zuniga object to the Magistrate's finding that none of the named defendants was owed coverage under the policy.

DISCUSSION

D&G and Zuniga object to the conclusion that they lack standing to oppose Midvale's motion, its finding that none of the named defendants were entitled to coverage, and the scope of its declaratory relief.

The Magistrate recommended finding that D&G's subcontractor agreement with Arevalos imposed no duty on Midvale, a “stranger to that contract,” to D&G. He also found that “D&G does not claim to be a third-party beneficiary of the Policy,” that “the Policy does not indicate an intent to confer a benefit upon D&G or any other individual or entity other than Arevalos,” and that “Zuniga is not a named insured or third-party beneficiary under the Policy.”

In New York, a non-party to a contract generally lacks standing to enforce the agreement in the absence of terms that clearly evidence an intent to permit enforcement by the third party in question unless it establishes:

the existence of a valid and binding contract between other parties,
that the contract was intended for his benefit and that the benefit to him is sufficiently immediate, rather than incidental, to indicate the assumption by the contracting parties of a duty to compensate him if the benefit is lost.

The US District Judge concluded that the Magistrate did not err. He found that Arevalos was not entitled to coverage because of the policy's Multi-Unit and Tract Housing Residential Exclusion, which “excludes coverage for ‘[b]odily injury' arising out of any ‘construction operations' that involve a ‘housing tract' or ‘multi-unit residential building.'”

Since the Underlying Action seeks damages for a construction project falling under this exclusion: specifically, one for a four-story building with ten residential units the exclusion clearly applied. This scope of relief is proper because it is what Midvale requested in its Complaint, and because the Magistrate rightly found Midvale entitled to a default judgment. The Court adopted the relief recommended by the Magistrate but noted that it is only binding against the defaulting parties.

The Court overrules D&G and Zuniga's objections, adopts the Magistrate’s recommendation and directs the Clerk to enter a judgment granting Midvale's motion for a default judgment against Arevalos and RM and declaring that Midvale has no duty to defend or indemnify any party with respect to the Underlying Action.

ZALMA OPINION

Every defendant in a law suit wants it resolved with other peoples' money and even if they did not buy insurance to protect themselves will seek the benefits of insurance available to others. Claiming a benefit to an insurance contract as a result of a construction contract can be effective if the policy provided coverage. In this case there was no coverage because of a clear and unambiguous exclusion the insurer had no obligation to provide defense or indemnity to anyone. It pays to read the insurance policy before making a claim and filing a suit.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g.

Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34

Follow me on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.

00:07:59
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
11 hours ago
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
October 13, 2026

Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property

Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma

When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved

A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property

Post 4862

In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026)  Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”

In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...

post photo preview
October 09, 2026
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4860

In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.

In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.

LAW

Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals