Failure to Prove Loss by a Named Peril Destroys Breach of Contract Suit
Barry Zalma
Jul 10, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/guS7tHKT and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gQDjEexd and at https://lnkd.in/g8fZT9TU and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.
Modern science allows an embryo to be created outside the body of a woman and later implanted and grown to term. The in vitro fertilization process allows more than one viable embryo to be created and they can be stored for use later in a cryogenic tank.
Sherlene and Lawrence Wong (the Wongs) had stored some embryos at a facility that kept them in a cryogenic tank that failed to maintain the temperature necessary to store the embryos, following which the Wongs’s fertility doctor told them they should consider the embryos “compromised” and “no longer viable, and lost.”
In Sherlene Wong et al. v. Stillwater Insurance Company, A162893, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (June 30, 2023) the Wongs attempted to recover the value of the embryo’s from a homeowners insurance policy they maintained with Stillwater Insurance (Stillwater). The policy was a specified perils policy that only insured for “direct physical loss” that was “caused by any of the following perils,” going on to list 16 specified perils. The Wongs made a claim for property damage, which Stillwater denied.
The Wongs sued, and Stillwater moved for summary judgment, on two bases: the Wongs could not submit evidence of (1) “direct physical loss” or (2) that “one of the sixteen specified perils occurred.” The trial court granted summary judgment.
BACKGROUND
Beginning in 2014, the Wongs pursued in vitro fertilization, working with Aimee Eyvazzadeh, M.D., as their doctor. In 2015, the Wongs completed an in vitro fertilization (IVF) cycle, and obtained four viable embryos, one of which was implanted. As to the other three, as Dr. Eyvazzadeh put it, after discussion with the Wongs they determined to “bank the rest,” which they did at Pacific Fertility Center (Pacific Fertility or PFC), a facility in San Francisco that included several cryogenic storage tanks that used liquid nitrogen to store human embryos at very low temperatures. Specifically, the embryos were stored in Tank 4, which also contained embryos belonging to other people.
On or about March 4, 2018, Tank 4 failed to maintain the temperature necessary to store embryos, as a result at least some (and possibly all) of the embryos stored in that tank partially or totally thawed.
The Stillwater policy provided coverage for personal property the Wongs “owned or used” while “anywhere in the world,” with policy limits for personal property of $502,720. The policy was a “specified perils” policy, the significance of which is that in order to demonstrate a covered loss the insured has the threshold burden of proving the loss was caused by a specifically enumerated peril.
On August 3, attorney Michelle Burton outlined her coverage evaluation to Stillwater, which among other things concluded that she “cannot ascertain from the file whether the insured’s zygotes were compromised, whether they are still viable or whether there has been a determination either way.” And, she further concluded, there was no evidence the claimed damage resulted from any of the 16 perils that apply to personal property as set forth in the policy. The claim was eventually denied and the Wongs sued the insurer.
The Proceedings Below
Stillwater filed a motion for summary judgment. The fundamental argument was that the Wongs “cannot establish essential elements” of the breach of contract claim because “the policy covers personal property only for ‘direct physical loss’ caused by one . . . of the [16] specified perils.” No proof of any specified peril was ever provided Stillwater with evidence of why Tank 4 failed to maintain proper temperature.
The opposition was accompanied by declarations of both of the Wongs, their attorney, Mr. Rosenberg-Wohl, and their fertility doctor, Dr. Eyvazzadeh who declared that as a result of this disaster, the Wongs’ embryos became worthless. “No responsible fertility physician would use them; I certainly would not.”
Eventually, the trial court filed its order granting the motion for summary judgment concluding that Stillwater met its burden of demonstrating that the causes of action alleged in the Wongs’ complaint cannot be established, and the Wongs have not raised a triable issue of material fact as to any of those causes of action.
Judgment was entered in favor of Stillwater, from which the Wongs filed an appeal.
DISCUSSION
The burden is on the insured to prove facts establishing the claimed loss falls within the coverage provided by the policy’s insuring clause.
The Wongs failed to demonstrate a direct “physical loss.” Dr. Eyvazzadeh testified that she had requested Pacific Fertility to conduct a test of one of the Wongs’s embryos, but that Pacific Fertility declined; and, she went on, there is “no way to know” whether the Wongs’s embryos actually sustained physical damage. That does not create a triable issue of material fact as to “physical loss.”
Dr. Eyvazzadeh’s concession there is “no way to know” whether the Wongs’s embryos had actual physical damage was devastating to the Wongs’s claim. And her conclusion that she deemed the embryos to be “worthless” was not a substitute for evidence that any of the embryos actually had undergone a physical change. The mere possibility that the embryos had suffered physical damage was insufficient to create a triable issue of fact to trigger coverage
No Evidence of Any Specified Peril
The Stillwater policy was, as noted, a “specified perils” policy. The Wongs presented no evidence that the cause of the alleged damage to the embryos was caused by one of the named perils and as a result the Court of Appeal concluded that the judgment was affirmed.
ZALMA OPINION
Stillwater conceded that the embryos were “personal property” that could be insured under the homeowners policy, although arguments could have been made that they were not property any more than a child born from the embryo would be property. Regardless, it effectively argued that there was no evidence that the embryos were damaged or destroyed when the temperature in the cryogenic chamber rose nor was there evidence that the embryos suffered direct physical damage only that they were “worthless” to an IVF doctor.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/gm5WBm8H ?s=01 Follow me on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...