Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
June 26, 2023
No Restitution from Defrauded Insurer

Fraud in Inception is Ground for Rescission

Barry Zalma
Jun 26, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gvYc94Hm and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gQ8h-fdM and at https://lnkd.in/gs5pWS4G and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

Esurance Property & Casualty Insurance Company (Esurance) appealed the trial court's order granting summary disposition in favor of Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company (Nationwide), and denying Esurance's request for summary disposition. In Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company v. Esurance Property & Casualty Insurance Company, and Derek Allen Gregory and Blair Gregory, No. 361298, Court of Appeals of Michigan (June 15, 2023) Esurance alleged its insured defrauded it when it acquired the policy and it was entitled to rescind the policy regardless of the trial court's balancing the equities.

PERTINENT FACTS

In 2015, Derek Gregory (Derek) was driving a truck insured by Esurance and co-owned with his wife, Blair Gregory (Blair). The truck collided with Daniel Moore (Moore), who was riding a bicycle. Moore was injured in the accident. Moore was uninsured, and his claim for personal protection insurance ("PIP" ) benefits was assigned to Nationwide via the Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF). Nationwide paid a total of $454,871.09 in medical expenses on behalf of Moore.

Nationwide subsequently filed this lawsuit against Moore and Esurance seeking to recover the PIP benefits it paid on Moore's behalf. Nationwide alleged that Esurance, as the insurer of the truck was in a higher priority position and was required to reimburse Nationwide.

The Bases for Rescission

Esurance subsequently filed a third-party complaint against Nationwide and the Gregorys, alleging that Blair had failed to disclose several material facts in her application for the insurance policy, including that she was married, that Derek occasionally drove the truck, that Derek had been in prior accidents involving alcohol, that Blair had been involved in prior accidents, and that Blair had filed prior claims with other insurance providers. Esurance argued that Blair's misrepresentations in her insurance application constituted fraud, warranted rescission of the policy, and prohibited Nationwide from recovering from Esurance as a higher-priority insurer.

After a hearing on Nationwide's motion, the trial court issued a written opinion granting summary disposition in favor of Nationwide. The trial court noted that rescission is not automatically applicable in the face of fraud. The trial court held that Esurance had failed to show that rescission was warranted, and that Nationwide could stand in Moore's shoes and recover from Esurance on the basis of equitable subrogation

RESCISSION

Esurance argued that the trial court erred by granting summary disposition in Nationwide's favor. Specifically, Esurance contended that the trial court abused its discretion in concluding that the balance of the equities weighed against rescission.

Equitable subrogation is a flexible, elastic doctrine of equity that is decided on a case-by-case basis. Equitable subrogation is the mode which equity adopts to compel the ultimate payment of a debt by one who in justice, equity, and good conscience ought to pay it.

The Michigan Supreme Court has held that the plain language of the no-fault act does not preclude or otherwise limit an insurer's ability to rescind a policy on the basis of fraud.

Although PIP benefits are mandated by statute, the no-fault act neither prohibits an insurer from invoking the common-law defense of fraud nor limits or narrows the remedy of rescission.

However, the presence of fraud by the insured does not automatically entitle an insured to rescission. When innocent parties are affected, rescission is left to the trial court's discretion. Rescission should not be granted in cases where the result thus obtained would be unjust or inequitable or in cases where the circumstances of the challenged transaction make rescission infeasible.

There is no dispute that Esurance is an innocent insurer, and that Moore is an innocent third party.

Caselaw clearly demonstrates that the equities must be balanced between the injured person and the party seeking rescission. The Michigan Supreme Court already rejected Esurance's arguments and held that such insurers may be reimbursed via equitable subrogation for PIP benefits paid on behalf of an uninsured person.

There was no evidence presented demonstrating that Esurance knew about this fraud before Moore was injured, and there was no showing of how Esurance could have been more diligent in reviewing the insurance application or in detecting the fraud.

A determination of whether policy enforcement only serves to relieve the fraudulent insured of what would otherwise be the fraudulent insured's personal liability to the innocent third party.

In totality, the court of appeal concluded that the trial court abused its discretion by holding that Esurance had failed to show that rescission was warranted. The ultimate issue in innocent-third-party cases is which innocent party should bear the ultimate burden of the insured's fraud. In this case, Moore has already recovered benefits from an alternate source, and rescission will have no effect on that coverage. In other words, if the policy is rescinded, neither Esurance nor Moore would, in practical terms, bear the burden of Blair's fraud. Under these circumstances, the trial court's decision to deny rescission fell outside the range of principled outcomes.

The trial court was ordered to enter an order granting summary disposition in favor of Esurance.

ZALMA OPINION

No one should profit from fraud. Not even an innocent insurer that paid benefits under a no-fault insurance scheme since it would have had to pay even if there was no insurance on the other side. Esurance was entitled to rescind because it would never have insured the Gregorys but for the fraud in the inception.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all... Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

00:09:04
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals