Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
June 23, 2023
Courts do not Make Different Contracts

Notice-Prejudice Rule Does not Apply to Claims Made and Reported Policy

Barry Zalma
Jun 23, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/grVTiSNV and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gKQng4Ce and at https://lnkd.in/gBWMqT2U and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4500 posts.

The Kentucky Supreme Court was asked to determine if the claims-made-and-reported management liability policy (“Policy”) Allied World Specialty Insurance Company (“Allied World”), issued to Kentucky State University (“KSU”) provided coverage because KSU did not comply with the Policy’s notice provisions. The trial court applied the notice prejudice rule and the Court of Appeal reversed and the case was brought to the Kentucky Supreme Court in Kentucky State University v. Darwin National Assurance Company N/K/A Allied World Specialty Insurance Company, No. 2021-SC-0130-DG, Supreme Court of Kentucky (June 15, 2023)

FACTS

The Policy KSU purchased from Allied World was for the period from July 1, 2014 to July 1, 2015. The Policy allows claims made against KSU within the policy period to be reported to Allied World up to ninety days after the end of the policy period. The Policy expired July 1, 2015, and the 90-day extended reporting period ended September 29, 2015.

During the policy period two professors submitted Notices of Charges of Discrimination to the United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) and Kentucky Commission on Human Rights (collectively, “EEOC Charges”) related to their employment at KSU. KSU received written notice of the EEOC Charges on June 23, 2015. On September 2, 2015, the professors brought employment-related claims against KSU in Franklin Circuit Court, the substance of which would be covered under the Policy. On October 2, 2015, three days after the extended reporting period expired, KSU notified Allied World who denied coverage.

KSU eventually sued Allied World and both moved for summary judgment. The circuit court granted summary judgment in favor of KSU.

The circuit court concluded that the notice-prejudice doctrine applied. The Court of Appeals disagreed and held that the terms of the Policy are clear about the extended reporting period. The Court of Appeals determined that the notice-prejudice rule does not apply to the Policy in this case.

ANALYSIS

The primary issue before the Supreme Court was whether the circuit court properly interpreted the notice provisions within the claims-made-and-reported insurance policy issued by Allied World to KSU and then, based upon that interpretation, correctly assessed the role, if any, that the notice-prejudice rule plays in this case.

Construction and Interpretation of Contracts.

In the absence of ambiguity, a written instrument will be enforced strictly according to its terms, and a court will interpret the contract’s terms by assigning language its ordinary meaning and without resort to extrinsic evidence.

THE POLICY.

The Policy provisions which explain the insurer’s coverage obligations in relation to the insured’s reporting obligations and which present the notice requirements are found in three clauses all of which require notice no later than ninety days after the end of the policy period.

Furthermore, with regard to reporting beyond the policy period, the Policy also provided KSU the right to purchase a Discovery Period after the expiration of the Policy. KSU did not purchase Discovery Period coverage.

THE NOTICE-PREJUDICE RULE.

The Policy expressly informed KSU that a condition of coverage – a condition precedent – was giving written notice of a claim as soon as practicable, but in no event was such notice of any claim to be provided to Allied World later than ninety days after the end of the Policy period. Since KSU did not purchase Discovery Period coverage, so the reporting period did not extend beyond the 90-day reporting period, the Policy clearly defined when notice was due and the consequences if notice is late.

The Policy unambiguously informed KSU that if the notice provisions were not met, Allied World had no obligation to KSU under the Policy.

Unlike the circuit court, the Supreme Court concluded that the Policy provisions at issue are unambiguous. Given the plain terms of the contract, their full force and effect does not equate to creating a windfall for the insurer. In the absence of circumstances justifying relief, courts do not make contracts different from those that the parties make for themselves, even when forfeiture provisions are harsh.

Application of the Notice-Prejudice Rule to Claims-Made-and-Reported Policies.

The Supreme Court concluded: “A claims-made-and-reported policy provides coverage only for claims made against the insured and reported to the insurer during the life of the policy regardless of when the underlying incident occurred. Timely notice of a claim is the event that not only triggers coverage, but also defines its scope.”

An occurrence-based policy is different. The Supreme Court concluded that Allied World was entitled to deny coverage to KSU when KSU did not comply with the notice requirements.

ZALMA OPINION

The claims made and reported liability insurance policy was designed to avoid long-term liability exposure faced by an “occurrence” policy and to avoid the insured’s ability to extend reporting requirements by use of the notice-prejudice rule that allowed a late report as long as the insurer was not prejudiced by the delay. In this case a three day delay would not cause prejudice to the insurer but it breached the clear and unambiguous condition precedent to coverage. KSU had months to report the claim and waited too long.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Consider subscribing to substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.

00:09:41
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
17 hours ago
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
October 13, 2026

Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property

Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma

When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved

A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property

Post 4862

In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026)  Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”

In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...

post photo preview
October 09, 2026
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4860

In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.

In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.

LAW

Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals