Umbrella Policy Always Excess Over Primary Policy
Barry Zalma
Jun 14, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gcfWnZVy and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gJ-FgvAF and at https://lnkd.in/gmUrBK8p and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4500 posts.
Two insurance companies argued who must indemnify an insured for a settlement involving their mutual insured. Great American Insurance Company paid subject to a reservation and sued the primary insurer, Allied World Assurance Company, alleging that because it was the umbrella insurer it only owed after Allied World as the primary insurer, paid its limits. The district court agreed, granting summary judgment in Great American’s favor.
In Great American Insurance Company v. Allied World Assurance Company, Inc., No. 22-12496, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (May 31, 2023) determined who was on first to the obligation to indemnify the insured, Tribridge Residential. After two women were shot and killed at an apartment complex that Tribridge managed an ensuing lawsuit alleged Tribridge negligently failed to implement security. Tribridge settled that suit with plaintiffs.
Three different insurance companies insured Tribridge. AmTrust International Underwriters DAC, an insurance company that issued Tribridge a primary commercial general liability policy, paid out its policy limit toward the settlement. Then, Allied World and Great American disagreed about which policy was the priority coverage for the rest of the settlement.
ALLIED WORLD POLICY
Allied World issued Tribridge a commercial general liability policy. Allied World issued a “primary policy,” it contains an excess clause purporting to render its coverage excess of other insurance when liability arises from Tribridge’s property management activities.
GREAT AMERICAN POLICY
Great American issued a “Commercial Umbrella Coverage” policy which includes Tribridge as an additional insured. The policy covers “those sums in excess of the ‘Retained Limit’ that the ‘insured’ becomes legally obligated to pay imposed by law or . . . because of ‘bodily injury.'”
Great American paid the rest of the settlement against Tribridge and sued Allied World, seeking equitable contribution and a declaratory judgment that its coverage obligation is not triggered until Allied World’s policy limit is exhausted.
ANALYSIS
Georgia law delineates between a “primary” insurance policy “written to provide primary coverage”- and an “umbrella” policy- operating as true excess over and above any type of primary insurance. All primary coverage must be exhausted before umbrella policy coverage is triggered.
Primary policies precede umbrella policies even when the primary policy includes an applicable “excess clause.” Umbrella policies, almost without dispute, are regarded as true excess over and above any type of primary coverage, excess provisions arising in regular policies in any manner, or escape clauses. Primary policies take priority to umbrella policies, even when the primary policy includes an applicable excess clause.
Great American’s commercial umbrella coverage policy only covers those sums in excess of listed underlying insurance. The Allied World policy is written to provide primary coverage and the Great American policy is the true excess policy. Accordingly, Allied World’s primary policy must be exhausted before the Great American umbrella policy applies.
In sum, Allied World is first in the pecking order as the “primary insurer.”
Summary judgment was affirmed for Great American but the court reversed the award of attorney’s fees.
ZALMA OPINION
The great comedians Abbot & Costello created the “Who’s on First Routine” that brought laughter to the question of who is in running the game. In this case a primary insurer, even with an “excess” and/or “escape” clause the primary is always on first and the umbrella only owes after the primary – the insurer on first – pays its limit and then the umbrella, on second base pays whatever is needed after the primary pays its limit. Allied World tried to avoid its obligation, failed, and is required to reimburse Great American.
If you found this post to be useful please inform your friends and colleagues so that they can subscribe at https://zalma.com/blog.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g
Follow me on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM
Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH;
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...