Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
May 17, 2023
No Damage = No Case

Broker Different Than Agent and Insurer

Barry Zalma

May 17, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gPu3qJnc, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gfDejreZ and at https://lnkd.in/gSdTDna8 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4500 posts.

Knockerball MidMo, LLC (“Knockerball”) appealed from the judgment of the trial court granting McGowan & Company, Inc.’s (“McGowan”) motion for summary judgment on Knockerball’s claims for negligence and breach of fiduciary duties.

In Knockerball Midmo, LLC v. Mcgowan & Company, Inc. d/b/a McGowan Excess & Casualty, No. WD85458, Court of Appeals of Missouri, Western District, Fourth Division (May 9, 2023) the Court of Appeals resolved the dispute.

BACKGROUND

McGowan, in its capacity as Knockerball’s insurance broker, and Sportsinsurance, in its capacity as managing general agent for Liability Insurer, assisted in procuring general liability insurance coverage for Knockerball in the amount of $1 million and the liability insurance policy covered the time period when Hart was severely injured on Knockerball’s premises.

Hart sued Knockerball for personal injuries (the “Underlying Suit”). Knockerball was served and promptly notified McGowan of the Underlying Suit and provided a copy of the petition to McGowan. McGowan’s representative assured Knockerball’s managing member that McGowan would “handle it.”

However, through a variety of missteps by McGowan, Sportsinsurance, and Liability Insurer, no responsive pleading was timely filed on behalf of Knockerball and an order of interlocutory default against Knockerball was entered in the Underlying Suit on March 31, 2017.

Knockerball then entered into an agreement with Hart that contained the following provisions: Hart and Knockerball and for the consideration of TEN DOLLARS ($10.00) provided to Hart this day by Knockerball agreed to settle and assign rights against broker and insurer.

Thereafter, a bench trial on damages was held on July 11, 2017, at which Knockerball did not cross-examine witnesses or object to the evidence Hart’s attorney offered. On July 13, 2017, the court in the Underlying Suit entered a Final Judgment for Hart against Knockerball in the amount of $44,631,268.99 with interest at the rate of 6.16 percent.

It is undisputed that Knockerball did not incur any attorney’s fees for the defense of the Underlying Suit. And Hart is prohibited from attempting to collect any portion of the judgment in the Underlying Suit against Knockerball or Knockerball’s managing member.

The trial court found that it was undisputed that not only was Knockerball protected from liability on Hart’s claims but it also stood to collect in excess of $1 million as a result of the resolution of actual coverage claims, therefore it was difficult to see how Knockerball has been damaged and that such damage was proximately caused by McGowan’s conduct.

ANALYSIS

This case is not a “bad faith refusal to settle” case against a liability insurer or that insurer’s general agent. Simply put, there is a difference between an insurance broker such as McGowan and a general agent for the insurer (i.e., Sportsinsurance). While an agent represents the insurer, an insurance broker, unless otherwise authorized and provided, represents the insured and, unless otherwise shown by the evidence, is to be regarded as the agent of the insured. Knockerball’s claims against McGowan are for negligence.

The circuit court granted summary judgment in favor of the insurance broker, and the insured appealed, asserting that the trial court erred in concluding that the insured sustained no damages resulting from the insurance broker’s failure to procure adequate insurance coverage.

The judgment in the Underlying Suit was entered after Hart agreed that he would not levy execution by garnishment or otherwise provided by law, or otherwise collect or attempt to collect on any property, asset, or right of Knockerball for any portion of the Judgment entered against it in the Underlying Suit. Instead of Knockerball suffering damages from a $44 million default judgment in the Underlying Suit, it actually received $1.25 million from Liability Insurer’s settlement of Hart’s claims against Liability Insurer.

Knockerball actually profited from its own business premises negligence due to the corresponding settlement of Hart’s coverage and bad faith claims.

The Court of Appeals concluded that Knockerball has not been damaged as a result of the judgment entered against it in the Underlying Suit. Knockerball has not established that it sustained pecuniary damage as a result of McGowan’s alleged negligence and breach of fiduciary duties to Knockerball as Knockerball’s insurance broker.

Without damages, the trial court’s summary judgment ruling is not erroneous, and Knockerball’s appeal is without merit.

ZALMA OPINION

Although the broker was negligent in not immediately forwarding the notice of the suit to the insurer the resulting actions of the insured and the plaintiff to allow action against the insurer and the brokers resulted in Knockerball incurring no damages and, in fact, profiting from the situation. This part of the case was, in my opinion, a waste of judicial time since an inability to prove any damage defeats the purpose of litigation.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34

http://www.zalma.com

00:08:29
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
20 hours ago
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
October 13, 2026

Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property

Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma

When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved

A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property

Post 4862

In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026)  Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”

In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...

post photo preview
October 09, 2026
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4860

In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.

In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.

LAW

Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals