Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
May 10, 2023
Pay the Limits as Written

It is Prudent to Read the Policy Before You Sue

Barry Zalma
May 10, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gFsmsfuq and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gjyA88Eg and at https://lnkd.in/gZPVXAzY and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4500 posts.

The insured sued its insurer for what it believe was the limit of liability of its policy for damage to property by fire. The insurer defended based on the fact that as an excess policy in one of multiple lawyers of insurance coverage it was only obligated to pay that proportion of the loss as described in the policy. The Insured sued and the USDC for the Eastern District of Washington resolved the dispute by reading the full policy in Oregon Potato Company v. Kinsale Insurance Company, No. 2:22-CV-0049-TOR, United States District Court, E.D. Washington (May 5, 2023).

BACKGROUND

In a first-party property insurance excess coverage dispute the USDC was faced with competing motions for summary judgment. Plaintiff Oregon Potato Company (“OPC”) sued Kinsale Insurance Company for (1) declaratory judgment, (2) breach of contract, (3) insurance bad faith and breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing, (4) violation of Washington’s Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act and Consumer Protection Act, and (5) reservation to assert claims for violation of Washington’s Insurance Fair Conduct Act.

OPC is a Washington corporation headquartered in Pasco, Washington that processes vegetable products and has a facility in Warden, Washington.

On January 21, 2021, a fire destroyed or damaged OPC property in Warden.

Before the fire OPC had purchased first-party property insurance covering its properties written in three layers, with the last insurer, Kinsale taking (20%) over the second excess layer for $25,000,000 to $50,000,000 for the shares shown in their respective parentheses. Kinsale expresses liability as “$5,000,000 Part of $25,000,000 Excess of $25,000,000 Per Occurrence.”

Kinsale’s policy contains the following Insuring Agreement: "The company will indemnify the Insured for our share, as shown in Item 1 of the Declarations Page of this Policy, of the Ultimate Net Loss caused by the direct physical loss or damage to Covered Property in excess of the Primary and Underlying Excess Insurance as shown in the Schedule of Underlying Insurance of this Policy, occurring during the policy period. This agreement is subject to the following terms, conditions and any endorsements to this Policy."

Kinsale’s policy defines “Ultimate Net Loss” as follows: "Ultimate Net Loss shall mean the actual loss sustained by the Insured as a direct physical result of the peril(s) insured against by the policy(ies) of the Primary and/or Underlying Excess Insurer(s) limited by: a. Any sub limited contained within this Policy or the policy(ies) of the Primary and/or Underlying Excess Insurer(s), and b. Making deductions for any salvage and recoveries from any source other than this Policy and the policy(ies) of the Primary and/or Underlying Excess Insurer(s)."

The first sub-location listed on the Statement of Values, shown in paragraph 10, was severely damaged. Kinsale initially viewed OPC’s loss as “a complete loss to our layer/capacity” and set reserves at is full $5 million limit. Kinsale does not dispute that this was its preliminary determination but contends that it was subsequently superseded by a more accurate determination of a lower loss reserve after investigation and evaluation proceeded.

OPC sent an Insurance Fair Conduct Act notice to Kinsale asking to pay its full $5 million limit. Kinsale responded that its policy “unambiguously” provides only “limited liability for Location 1 to the $25,100,000 stated value” and that its limit of liability is not $5 million, but instead 20% of every dollar of loss above $25 million.

OPC contends it is currently entitled to payment of the remaining balance of Kinsale’s $5,000,000 policy limit and Kinsale contending that it has paid all sums due according to proofs of loss submitted to date.

DISCUSSION

The “Occurrence Limit of Liability Endorsement” (“OLLE”): OLLE is a modification to the underlying policy and sets the upper limits of Kinsale’s liability. The OLLE is read in conjunction with the rest of the policy as “ALL OTHER TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THE POLICY REMAIN UNCHANGED.”

The underlying policy states that Kinsale will indemnify OPC “for our share … of the Ultimate Net Loss . . . in excess of the Primary and Underlying Excess Insurance as shown in the Schedule of Underlying Insurance of this Policy”.

Taken together, the language of Kinsale’s policy is not ambiguous. Kinsale’s insurance policy provides excess coverage, which when triggered, is for their “share”, i.e., $5 million out of the $25 million, or 20 percent. Kinsale’s proportional/share liability does not automatically entitle OPC to $5 million under the OLLE – to read otherwise would entitle OPC to overlapping, not excess, coverage. It was only required to pay 20% of the amount owed by its share of the total loss.

Therefore, summary judgment in Kinsale’s favor is appropriate.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Follow me on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM

Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://lnkd.in/g2hGv88; https://lnkd.in/gAXsGjdi;

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.

00:07:36
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals