Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
April 27, 2023
MOLD EXCLUSION APPLIES

Biological Damage Cover Must Overcome Mold Exclusion

Barry Zalma

Apr 27, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/geYYJEfU and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/giX5szDJ and at https://lnkd.in/gN2as772 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4500 posts.

In Clay Buchholz; Lindsay Buchholz v. Crestbrook Insurance Company, doing business as Nationwide Private Client, No. 22-50265, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (April 18, 2023) Clay and Lindsay Buchholz sued their insurer after recovering $745,778 for damage to their ten-thousand-square-foot house in Austin, Texas.

The Buchhholz’ insured their home with Crestbrook Insurance Company. Their policy included “Biological Deterioration or Damage Clean Up and Removal” coverage (“mold coverage”). The Buchholz family discovered a widespread mold infestation in their home. Although Crestbrook covered many of their losses, it denied a generalized claim for mold growing in the Buchholzes’ walls and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system. A magistrate judge issued a report and recommendation in favor of Crestbrook, and the district court adopted the magistrate judge’s conclusions.

FACTS

Crestbrook paid $745,778 in covered losses on five of the six claims submitted. However, Crestbrook asserted that the sixth claim for general mold growth and mold in the HVAC system was excluded. The Buchholz family retained MLAW Forensics, Inc., to investigate the cause of their mold infestation. Crestbrook paid for MLAW’s investigation. Dean R. Read, P.E., wrote a causation report on what he concluded led to the mold growth at the Buchholzes’ house that found that “discrete leaks and a ‘global’ issue due to interruption or restriction of the moisture vapor drive drying process” caused the mold. Specifically, he concluded that the house’s HVAC system was “[i]mproperly designed or configured and non-functional,” which resulted in “elevated moisture content []” and subsequent mold growth.

Based on MLAW’s causation report Crestbrook denied Appellants’ mold claim. The denial letter referred to policy exclusions for biological deterioration or damage, a defect or inadequacy in design, workmanship, construction and materials. In addition, the policy contained exclusions for weather conditions or dampness, and gradual or sudden loss due to a mechanical breakdown. Crestbrook concluded that the biological deterioration or damage additional limited coverage would not apply to this claim.

In their final complaint, the Buchholz family alleged that Crestbrook breached their insurance contract in bad faith and violated the Texas Insurance Code. The magistrate judge concluded that the Buchholz family had failed to demonstrate a “covered cause of loss” as required by their mold coverage.

ANALYSIS

Under Texas law, when deciding a dispute regarding insurance coverage, the court first looks to the language of the policy because it presumes parties intend what the words of their contract say. The court must give the policy’s words their ordinary and generally accepted meaning unless the policy shows the words were meant in a technical or different sense. A disagreement between the parties regarding the meaning of policy terms or interaction between terms does not create ambiguity.

The Insured’s Burden

In a coverage dispute, the insured has the burden first to prove that their loss falls within the terms of the contract. Once the insured demonstrates this, the burden shifts to the insurer, who, to avoid liability, must show that the loss falls into an exclusion to the policy’s coverage.

The Fifth Circuit Conclusion

The Fifth Circuit concluded that the magistrate judge correctly laid out the Texas insurance dispute burden-shifting framework in her report and recommendation she concluded: “[The Buchholzes] fail to identify the cause of the mold damage. Instead, [the Buchholzes] submit that the Policy is an inclusive, all risk policy that covers all-risk of accidental direct physical loss to the property unless an exception applies… Accordingly, [the Buchholzes] fail to meet their burden to show that the Mold Claim is covered under the [mold coverage] provision.”

In its motion for summary judgment, Crestbrook argued that mold infestation is an excluded peril under the policy. Applying the Texas insurance burden-shifting framework, the Fifth Circuit agreed with Crestbrook that the mold exclusion bars coverage for the Buchholz family’s claim. Under the Texas insurance dispute framework, the Buchholzes must first show a direct physical loss as required under their all-risk policy. Then Crestbrook can identify any exclusions to coverage of that loss.

The policy excluded coverage for “loss to any property resulting directly or indirectly from any of the following . . . Biological Deterioration or Damage, except as provided by [the mold coverage].”

The Buchholzes showed they suffered a mold infestation, nothing more.

Their theory is that water intrusion causes mold. But water intrusion as such is not a loss covered by the policy when its only manifested harm to covered property is fungal growth. Consequently, the Buchholzes did not show that their mold coverage serves as an exception to the mold exclusion. So, their generalized mold claim is excluded by the terms of their policy.

Although the Fifth Circuit found that the district court incorrectly applied the Texas insurance coverage burden-shifting framework Crestbrook is still entitled to summary judgment because it has demonstrated that a generalized mold claim is excluded under the policy.

ZALMA OPINION

The Fifth Circuit concluded that it was required to interpret the insurance policy as it was written and that the generalized mold claim was clearly and unambiguously excluded. Nothing more need be said. The Buchholzes should not have sued their insurer they should have sued the contractor, designer or manufacturer of the defective HVAC system. In fact they should join with their insurer in seeking damages from those who were responsible for the defects that caused the mold infestation.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]

Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.

00:10:22
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals