Intoxicated Driving Not in the Course and Scope of Employment
Barry Zalma
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gnZ2xstU and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gVb-M9AD and at https://lnkd.in/gn3FZgdf and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4450 posts.
In Gerard Loftus, et al. v. Three Palms Crocker Park, LLC, et al., Appeal by Robert Sotka, 2023-Ohio-927, No. 111639, Court of Appeals of Ohio, Eighth District, Cuyahoga (March 23, 2023) an intoxicated person injures a passenger when he lost control of a vehicle at 120 miles per hour and crashed.
Robert Sotka appealed the trial court’s grant of summary judgment in favor of his employer, Three Palms Crocker Park, LLC (“Three Palms”) and its insurer, State Auto Mutual Insurance Company (“State Auto”).
FACTUAL OVERVIEW
Plaintiff Gerard Loftus was severely injured as a passenger in a single-car accident in which Sotka was the driver. Sotka was the manager at the Three Palms pizzeria restaurant. Sotka had discussions with Loftus about potentially purchasing a restaurant with him.
Sotka left the restaurant at 5:15 p.m. and traveled over 60 miles to the Canoe Club to meet Loftus and a group of Loftus’s friends. At around 10:15 p.m., Sotka was driving exceeding a speed of 120 m.p.h. The car left the road and hit a guardrail, causing extensive damage. Sotka’s passenger, Loftus, suffered extensive and permanent injuries. Sotka was later convicted of the crimes of Operating Vehicle Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs – OVI, a misdemeanor of the first degree, and Vehicular Assault, a felony of the fourth degree in the Ottawa County Court of Common Pleas.
Loftus sued Sotka and Three Palms, Sotka’s employer. State Auto, who had issued Three Palms a business insurance policy, intervened in the lawsuit and sought a declaratory judgment action that it need not provide a defense or coverage because the accident that resulted in Loftus’ injuries was not covered by the insurance policy because Sotka was not conducting or furthering its business when he crashed his car injuring Loftus.
The trial court granted summary judgment to both Three Palms and State Auto.
LAW AND ARGUMENT
An employer may be subject to respondeat superior liability for an employee’s accident when that employee is acting within the scope of employment. Conduct is within the scope of a servant’s employment if it is of the kind which he is employed to perform, occurs substantially within the authorized limits of time and space, and is actuated, at least in part, by a purpose to serve the employer.
State Auto’s insurance policy provides liability coverage to Three Palms pursuant to the Commercial General Liability Coverage (“CGL policy”). The parties agreed that the CGL policy specifically excludes damages from motor vehicle accidents pursuant to exclusion. The Auto Endorsement provides CGL coverage for damages arising out of the use of any “non-owned auto” in the business by any person.
There was no dispute that Sotka was driving a non-owned auto as defined by the Auto Endorsement. However, the Auto Endorsement only provides coverage while the non-owned auto is being used in Three Palms’ business.
The trial court determined that neither condition was present upon the record and specifically found that there are no genuine issues of material fact that defendant Sotka was not within the course and scope of his employment with defendant Three Palms Crocker Park, LLC at the time of the subject accident.
The court noted that Sotka left the restaurant at 5:15 p.m., traveled a distance of over 60 miles, and admitted the purpose of his trip was to meet with his friend and soon to be new business partner, Loftus. There was no evidence Sotka went to Catawba for any business purpose to benefit Three Palms. Traveling 60 miles and socializing to pursue personal business unrelated to his employer cannot be deemed to be in the service of Three Palms.
Considering Sotka’s conduct in total, assuming he contacted employees and spoke with others about the general aspects of the operation of a restaurant, those actions are merely incidental to the purpose of his evening: socializing with Loftus and furthering a personal business venture. Moreover, the restaurant employees present on the evening of the accident closed the restaurant without Sotka’s direction or input.
The record reflects that Sotka’s purpose in going to Catawba that evening was to socialize and further his own personal business opportunities. Arguing that the accident occurred while Sotka was acting within the scope of his employment or in furtherance of Three Palms’ business, was unbelievable.
Sotka committed the offenses of operating a vehicle under impairment, and vehicular assault, a felony. This conduct cannot fairly and reasonably be deemed to be an ordinary and natural incident or attribute of the service to be rendered, or a natural, direct, and logical result of the pizzeria.
ZALMA OPINION
After spending an evening drinking and reviewing potential opportunities to obtain a new, and personal business with an acquaintance, and then (while intoxicated) starting a return ride at more than 120 miles per hour to take his acquaintance home or to the restaurant owned by Sotka’s employer, Sotka was convicted of a felony as a result of his driving and the injuries of the plaintiff. The conduct was obviously not part of Sotka’s employment as the manager of a Pizzeria and, therefore, no coverage from the employer or the employer’s insurer.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]
Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf. Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...