Theft by Fraud, Trick or Device Not Covered
Barry Zalma
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g_PhERmx and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gwrrrmrM and at https://lnkd.in/gJrCfE9A and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4400 posts.
In Civitas-IT, LLC v. Auto-Owners Insurance Company, No. 359731, Court of Appeals of Michigan (January 12, 2023) dealt with a claim for loss by fraud.
BASIC FACTS
Plaintiff, a company that provides information technology services, brought suit against defendant for breach of contract and bad-faith denial of a claim under MCL 500.2006 after defendant denied plaintiff’s insurance claim for computer equipment that was fraudulently procured by an imposter.
In July 2020, plaintiff received an inquiry from an individual purporting to be from the purchasing department for Macomb County. The individual stated that Macomb County was interested in purchasing new computer equipment and asked plaintiff to facilitate the transaction. Plaintiff did so only to later discover that Macomb County never ordered the equipment. Plaintiff submitted a claim for the loss to defendant for $165,195, which defendant denied.
In the trial court, defendant moved for summary disposition asserting that the insurance policy did not cover plaintiff’s loss because the policy explicitly excluded any loss that was the result of “[v]oluntary parting with any property by you to anyone else to whom you have entrusted the property if induced to do so by any fraudulent scheme, trick, device or false pretense.” Plaintiff argued that the loss was covered by the “accounts receivable” endorsement, which stated defendant would cover “[a]ll amounts your customers owe you that you cannot collect ….” In response, defendant asserted that the imposter that obtained the computer equipment was not a “customer” and, therefore, the endorsement did not apply.
The trial court concluded that the policy did not cover the loss because the account was not an “account receivable.” Thus, the court granted defendant’s motion for summary disposition. This appeal followed.
DISCUSSION
An insurance policy is read as a whole, and meaning should be attributed to all terms. Unambiguous insurance policy language must be enforced as written.
In the accounts receivable endorsement, defendant agreed to cover “[a]ll amounts your customers owe you that you cannot collect” and “[o]ther expenses you reasonably incur to reestablish your records which result from direct physical loss of or damage to your records of accounts receivable.” Thus, contrary to plaintiff’s argument, the term “accounts receivable” is more than just a label on the endorsement, it is a term itself in the language of the policy. For its part, the trial court defined the term as involving “a bill/statement, repeated billings followed by informal and friendly inquiries, and then stronger language and efforts.”
Under the trial court’s formulation, the account was an account receivable because plaintiff did record a statement for the transaction in its accounts, and made efforts to collect the money, at first with friendly inquiries and ultimately culminating in involving law enforcement and filing this lawsuit. Even though the account itself was an account receivable it was not an account receivable with a “customer.”
The question of whether the imposter was a “customer” under the policy required the Court of Appeal to address three questions.
If the insurance policy is not rendered ambiguous simply because the term “customer” is undefined.
If the relevant question is whether the policy, when read fairly and as a whole, permits differing interpretations as to whether coverage is afforded.
If the policy, in general, does not cover losses that are the result of fraud.
Specifically, in the exclusions for covered losses, the parties agreed that defendant would not be responsible to pay for losses that were the result of “[v]oluntary parting with any property by you or anyone else to whom you have entrusted the property if induced to do so by any fraudulent scheme, trick, device, or false pretense.” Plaintiff contends it negotiated around this provision by incorporating the accounts receivable endorsement, essentially arguing that because a customer can cause plaintiff to have a loss on an account by failing to pay, and because an imposter can be a customer, the imposter, by defrauding plaintiff, can cause the loss which must be covered by defendant. This is not a fair reading of the entire policy because an imposter is not a customer.
The term “customer” is defined in Black’s Law Dictionary (11th ed) as “[a] buyer or purchaser of goods or services; esp., the frequent or occasional patron of a business establishment.” The relevant terms in this definition are “buyer” and “purchaser,” both of which imply the exchange of money from the customer for goods or services from the business. In this case, not only was there not an exchange of money, but it is also clear that there never was an intent by the imposter to ever pay for the computer equipment. Thus, under the dictionary definition, the term “customer” does not encompass the imposter that defrauded plaintiff in this case.
Defendant issued the policy to plaintiff under which the parties agreed that defendant would not cover losses that resulted from any fraudulent scheme, trick, device, or false pretense.
ZALMA OPINION
Insurance is a contract designed to indemnify an insured against fortuitous losses. However, even if a fraudster obtains product by tricking the insured into believing they were selling to a City, it was defrauded and that person was not a “customer” because he or she never intended to purchase the computer equipment. The “fraudulent scheme, trick, device, or false pretense” exclusion is hoary with age and fits the facts of this claim perfectly.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Go to substack at substack.com/refer/barryzalma Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at substack.com/refer/barryzalma
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.
Go to substack at https://lnkd.in/gEEnV7Dd Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gEEnV7Dd
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]
Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...