No Duty to Defend or Indemnify Intentional Acts or Person not Insured
Barry Zalma
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gQ_h65mv and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gqd7Vzcf and at https://lnkd.in/gybbH-tj and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4350 posts.
Norma Hudson and the Hudson Revocable Trust (the Trust) appealed from a summary judgment entered in favor of Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company of Arkansas, Inc. (Farm Bureau). In the summary-judgment order, the trial court found as a matter of law that Farm Bureau had no duty of defense or indemnification to the appellants arising from a lawsuit filed against the Trust by Dewayne Evans, Mark White, and Billy Taylor. In Norma Hudson And Hudson Revocable Trust v. Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company Of Arkansas, Inc., No. CV-21-396, Court of Appeals of Arkansas, Division II (October 5, 2022) the Court of Appeal resolved the coverage dispute.
FACTS
Benjamin Hudson (Norma’s adult grandson) shot and killed two coon dogs and allegedly traumatized a third on property owned by the Trust. The dog owners sued Benjamin Hudson (Benjamin) and the Trust, raising claims for destruction of property, negligence, and tort of outrage and seeking compensatory and punitive damages. The allegations in the complaint against the Trust were that Benjamin was employed to oversee the Trust property, that he was acting in a scope of that authority, and that his outrageous conduct was ratified by the Trust.
Norma has two insurance policies with Farm Bureau. One policy is a homeowner’s policy that insures the property where the shootings occurred, and the other is a property owner’s policy. After the dog owners’ sued Norma and the Trust made a claim with Farm Bureau for coverage under the insurance policies. Farm Bureau subsequently sued seeking a declaratory judgment that it owed no duty to defend or indemnify Benjamin, Norma, or the Trust based on exclusionary language in the policies relating to bodily injury or property damage arising out of intentional acts.
The policies provided that Farm Bureau provided that there is no coverage for “bodily injury or property damage caused intentionally by you or any covered person or at the direction of you or any covered person” and that “[t]he expected or unexpected results of such acts are not covered.” (Emphasis added.)
Farm Bureau asserted that the dog owners’ complaint alleged that Benjamin was acting as an agent of the Trust when he shot the dogs. Farm Bureau argued that because the insurance policies expressly excluded liability coverage for damage arising out of an intentional act, it had no duty to defend or indemnify Norma or the Trust and that it should be granted summary judgment.
The trial court agreed and entered an order granting Farm Bureau’s summary-judgment motion. Specifically, the trial court found:
Liability insurance coverage is expressly and unambiguously excluded under both the Homeowner Policy and the Property Owners Policy for bodily injury or property damage arising out of the intentional conduct of an insured.
That it is alleged in the underlying lawsuit Benjamin C. Hudson was acting on behalf of Hudson Revocable Trust at the time of the subject incident, and it is undisputed in this matter that Benjamin C. Hudson acted intentionally in shooting the dogs in the course of the subject incident.
That, as a matter of Arkansas law, liability insurance coverage is excluded under the Homeowner Policy and Property Owners Policy from covering Dewayne Evans, Mark White, and Billy Taylor’s alleged damages in the Underlying Lawsuit and relating to the dog-shooting event.
ANALYSIS
Once the moving party has established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, the opposing party must meet proof with proof and demonstrate the existence of a material issue of fact. On appellate review, the appellate court must determine if summary judgment was appropriate based on whether the evidentiary items presented by the moving party in support of the motion leave a material fact unanswered. The Court of Appeal views the evidence in the light most favorable to the party against whom the motion was filed, resolving all doubts and inferences against the moving party. The review focuses not only on the pleadings but also on the affidavits and other documents filed by the parties.
Arkansas law regarding the construction of insurance contracts is well settled and requires the language in an insurance policy is to be construed in its plain, ordinary, and popular sense. If the language of the policy is unambiguous, the Court of Appeal will give effect to the plain language of the policy without resorting to the rules of construction.
Once it is determined that coverage exists, it then must be determined whether the exclusionary language within the policy eliminates coverage. Exclusionary endorsements must adhere to the general requirements that the insurance terms must be expressed in clear and unambiguous language. If a provision is unambiguous, and only one reasonable interpretation is possible, the court will give effect to the plain language of the policy without resorting to the rules of construction.
The appellants state that the undisputed facts show that the insured, Norma, did not shoot the dogs, nor did she direct or encourage Benjamin to shoot the dogs. The appellants state it is implicit in the trial court’s ruling that Benjamin was acting on behalf of the Trust when the unrebutted evidence – the affidavits submitted by Norma and Benjamin-proved otherwise.
The Court of Appeal disagreed and held that Farm Bureau was properly granted summary judgment. In the dog owners’ complaint against Benjamin and the Trust, they alleged that Benjamin intentionally shot the dogs while acting in a scope of authority to oversee Trust property and that his outrageous conduct was ratified by the Trust. In reviewing the actual allegations in the complaint, the insurance policies unambiguously exclude coverage for “bodily injury or property damage caused intentionally by you or any covered person or at the direction of you or any covered person.” (Emphasis added.)
The duty to defend arises when there is a possibility that the damage falls within the policy coverage. Where there is no possibility that the damage alleged in the complaint may fall within the policy coverage, there would be no duty to defend.
The Court of Appeal concluded that there is no possibility that the damage alleged in the complaint falls within the policy coverage because if Benjamin acted at the direction of the Trust, as alleged in the dog owners’ complaint, the policy exclusion for committing an intentional act would apply and defeat coverage. Conversely, if Benjamin acted unilaterally and not on behalf of the Trust, the Farm Bureau policy would not provide coverage because Benjamin was not a named insured as defined in the policies.
Therefore, the trial court’s order of summary judgment was affirmed.
ZALMA OPINION
The Trust denied causation claiming the shooter did not act for it. If he did act for the trust there was no coverage because of the intentional act. If he did not act for the trust, he was not an insured, and there is no coverage. Intentionally killing two coon dogs could never be a covered event under any liability insurance policy.
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected] and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
Now available Barry Zalma’s newest book, The Compact Book on Ethics is available as a Kindle book, a paperback or as a hard cover.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at
Zalma on Insurance
Insurance, insurance claims, insurance law, and insurance fraud .
By Barry Zalma
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...