Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
October 07, 2022
FIREARMS EXCLUSION ELIMINATES COVERAGE

SHOOTING A PERSON IN THE BACK TWICE IS NOT AN ACCIDENT
Barry Zalma

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gBtSDCgE, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8DjCtNq and at https://lnkd.in/gUaRAN8c and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4300 posts.

Great American Alliance Insurance Company (“GAAIC”) was granted summary judgment when the trial court determined that a GAAIC umbrella insurance policy did not cover an insurance claim made by Star Residential, LLC (“Star”), and Terraces at Brookhaven, LLC (“Terraces,” collectively, the “Insureds”), based on a shooting injury suffered by Manuel Hernandez (collectively with the Insured, the “Claimants”).

In Hernandez v. Great American Alliance Insurance Company Star Residential, LLC et al. v. Great American Alliance Insurance Company, Nos. A22A1147, A22A1211, Court of Appeals of Georgia, Third Division (October 4, 2022) the Court of Appeals resolved the dispute.
The Issue

The Claimants argued that the trial court erred by ruling that the umbrella policy did not cover the Insureds’ claims because:

GAAIC’s conduct waived its policy defenses, and

the GAAIC umbrella policy did not “follow form” to certain underlying insurance that excluded coverage for events using firearms.

Facts

The undisputed record showed that Star and Terraces own and/or operate an apartment complex where Hernandez lived. In May 2017, Hernandez was shot twice in the back by two assailants as he approached the door to his apartment one night.

Within days, Star generated an incident report, notified Terraces about the shooting, and notified its primary insurance carrier, Associated Industries Insurance Company, Inc. (a/k/a AmTrust North America, herein “AIIC”). Two weeks after that, counsel for Hernandez notified the Insureds that he represented Hernandez. At that time, the Insureds did not notify GAAIC about any potential claim.

In early December 2017, primary carrier AIIC received a formal demand letter from Hernandez seeking $1.5 million in compensation. The Insureds gave GAAIC notice of the claim on February 2, 2018. A few days later, GAAIC acknowledged the notice and stated that it had logged the matter as “incident only,” and it did not expect to take any further action at this time, reminding the Insureds to report the claim to their primary insurance carrier if they had not already.

Hernandez sued the Insureds and served them in April 2018. In May 2018, AIIC sent the Insureds a letter denying coverage and declining to represent the Insureds in the litigation. In June 2018, GAAIC began paying for legal representation for the Insureds. Within a day of initiating representation, on June 20, 2018, GAAIC sent the first of three reservation of rights letters to the Insureds.

Among other things, GAAIC’s June 2018 reservation of rights letter noted AIIC’s denial of primary insurance coverage of bodily injury because: AAIC only covered injury due to “accident,” as opposed to intentional conduct, and AAIC’s primary policy also excluded coverage for bodily injury arising from the use of firearms.

The GAAIC policy defines it as an accident, as opposed to intentional conduct, similar to the AIIC policy. In May 2020, GAAIC sent a second supplemental reservation of rights letter. In that letter, GAAIC explained that for the Insureds, “the [GAAIC] policy states that ‘coverage applies only if the organization is included under coverage provided by the [underlying policies] . . . and then for no broader coverage than is provided under such ‘underlying insurance.'” Therefore, the letter explained, the AIIC exclusions “apply equally to bar coverage in the [GAAIC] policy,” including the firearms exclusion in the AIIC policy.
THE DECLARATORY RELIEF ACTION

GAAIC sued seeking declaratory judgment resolving the coverage issue with respect to GAAIC’s policy. The trial court granted GAAIC’s motion for summary judgment and denied the Insured’s cross-motion for summary judgment. The Claimants now appeal.

It is undisputed that within 24 hours of a discussion about assuming the Insured’s defense, GAAIC sent the Insureds its first reservation of rights letter. This letter was sufficiently prompt and quoted the firearms exclusion in the underlying AIIC policy, as well as GAAIC’s umbrella coverage provision triggered by an “occurrence,” which is defined in GAAIC’s policy as “an accident.”

This prompt reservation of rights letter was sufficient to notify the Insureds that even though GAAIC had initiated its coverage of a legal defense, it would still rely on the terms, definitions, and provisions of the umbrella policy; that the underlying insurance (quoted in the reservation of rights letter) likely did not cover injuries caused by firearms; and that GAAIC was not waiving its policy defenses implicated by the terms of the GAAIC policy or the underlying AIIC policy, which policy GAAIC quoted in the reservation of rights letter.

In sum, the record showed that GAAIC was acting in good faith to provide a defense under a reservation of rights, and in light of the specific language in the initial reservation of rights letter, the court of appeal declined to penalize GAAIC for further clarifying those positions in supplemental reservations of rights.

The Court of Appeal concluded that the trial court correctly concluded that:

the Insureds are properly identified as members of the DPUM risk purchasing group covered by the umbrella policy,

the Insureds purchased AIIC as underlying insurance for purposes of the umbrella policy, and

the umbrella policy coverage is no broader than the underlying AIIC insurance purchased.

Otherwise, according to the GAAIC’s definition of “Insured,” if the AIIC policy is not included as underlying insurance, then the umbrella policy does not apply.

Accordingly, in light of the controlling language and structure of the GAAIC insurance contract, the trial court did not err by holding that GAAIC’s umbrella coverage could not be expanded beyond the underlying coverage and the trial court correctly granted summary judgment to GAAIC and denied the Insureds’ motion for partial summary judgment.
ZALMA OPINION

Insurance policies are contracts whether primary or umbrella/excess policies. Since the claim was based on the fact that Hernandez was shot in the back twice the firearms exclusion applied and since it applied in the underlying coverage it did not apply in the umbrella. A Reservation of rights letter, even if it doesn’t cover every possibility against coverage, especially when covered by supplemental reservations, cannot act as a waiver of the insurer’s rights and obligations since its intent is the opposite: preventing waiver.

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected] and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Now available Barry Zalma’s newest book, The Tort of Bad Faith, available here. The new book is available as a Kindle book, a paperback or as a hard cover.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library

00:11:36
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
14 hours ago
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
October 13, 2026

Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property

Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma

When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved

A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property

Post 4862

In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026)  Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”

In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals