Insurer Can’t Prove Fraudulent Intent on Summary Judgment
Lies During Litigation do not Violate Policy’s Fraud Provision
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/ggMeXZVg and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gajapizN and at https://lnkd.in/gGveZsg2 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4300 posts.
Posted on October 5, 2022 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://rumble.com/v1mlv7u-insurer-cant-prove-fraudulent-intent-on-summary-judgment.html and at
Mariana Gracia appealed the trial court’s grant of final summary judgment in favor of Security First Insurance Company (“Security First”). The trial court found Gracia had made affirmative misrepresentations regarding the pre-loss condition of her property, warranting forfeiture of coverage under the concealment or fraud provision of her homeowner’s insurance policy. Mariana Gracia v. Security First Insurance Company, No. 5D21-1456, Florida Court of Appeals, Fifth District (September 9, 2022)
FACTS
Security First insured Gracia for the risks of loss to her home located in Orlando, Florida. Gracia reported a loss due to roof damage allegedly caused by a storm. Security First investigated the claim and extended approximately $11,000 in coverage for damages. However, Gracia then submitted a sworn proof of loss, claiming more damages than what Security First had covered.
After Security First denied the supplemental claim, Gracia sued alleging breach of contract and seeking additional damages to cover roof repairs and interior water damage. During her deposition, Gracia revealed that a home inspection had been performed in 2015, prior to her purchasing the property. When asked the results of the inspection, she stated, “Everything was good” and that the “roof was in good condition.”
After Security First obtained the 2015 inspection report, it amended its affirmative defenses to include the concealment or fraud provision of the policy, as the inspection report indicated that the property had roof and interior ceiling damage in 2015. The inspection report contained photographs revealing the damage and specifically noted roof leaks around the chimney, water damage in the attic, and interior ceiling damage caused by water-areas consistent with those noted by Gracia in her instant claim.
Security First moved for summary judgment on several grounds but focused exclusively on its concealment or fraud defense at the summary judgment hearing. The trial court agreed with Security First. To obtain summary judgment Security First was required to establish that Gracia’s statements regarding the pre-loss condition of her property were made with the intent to mislead. Because this case was decided under the new Florida Rule of Civil Procedure 1.510, summary judgment is appropriate when “the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could not return a verdict for the nonmoving party.” In re Amends. to Fla. R. Civ. P. 1.510, 317 So.3d 72, 75 (Fla. 2021) (citing Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986)).
The trial court interpreted this new standard as allowing it to weigh and judge the credibility of the evidence. Credibility determinations and weighing the evidence are jury functions, not those of a judge, when ruling on a motion for summary judgment. Gracia argued that where Security First relied upon subsection (3) of the concealment or fraud provision, it was required to meet its initial burden of establishing that her statements were made with an intent to mislead and were material. She contends there was no such showing and that the trial court effectively decided these fact questions when it granted summary judgment.
ANALYSIS
The Court of Appeal found it important to highlight the distinction between misrepresentation during the insurance application process and misrepresentation in the post-loss context. With respect to the former, the law in Florida is clear: an insurer can later void a policy based on an insured’s false statement without a showing of intent to mislead. A misrepresentation need not be fraudulently or knowingly made but need only affect the insurer’s risk or be a fact which, if known, would have caused the insurer not to issue the policy or not to issue it in so large an amount.
A different standard is applied to false statements in the post-loss context, requiring proof of intent to mislead. For post-loss conduct, the policy requires proof of knowing or intentional fraudulent conduct by the insureds to trigger the application of the “Concealment or Fraud” provision to void the policy. At least some portion of the “Concealment or Fraud” provision will be rendered superfluous if subsection (3) is read to dispense with an intent requirement then subsections (1) and (2)’s inclusion of an intent requirement are rendered superfluous: mere proof of incorrectness under subsection (3) would forfeit coverage thus eliminating any need for proof of intentional misrepresentation or fraud so prominently featured in subsections (1) and (2). In these circumstances, where either of the competing interpretations will render some language a nullity, the rule of construction requiring avoidance of interpretations that make any language superfluous loses traction.
The fault is not in the rule of construction but in the policy language. The Court of Appeal interpreted the reference to “false statements” in the “Concealment or Fraud” provision as requiring an element of fraudulent intent. Despite having maintained below that fraudulent intent was not required, Security First argues on appeal that affirmance is warranted because its evidence undoubtedly established Gracia’s intent to mislead. Simply put, factual questions relating to fraudulent intent or state of mind are generally not ripe for summary judgment determination.
ZALMA OPINION
Had Security First required Gracia to submit to an examination under oath and found that she lied about the inspection report that was prepared before the policy their summary judgment would have been granted and affirmed since the misrepresentation or concealment preceded the filing of suit. They only learned of the fraud in a deposition which is not part of the claims process. There is no question that Gracia had the report before she acquired a policy from Security First and should have disclosed that fact to her insurer. At trial Security First will bring in that evidence or will file a new summary judgment motion with an affidavit from the underwriter who will probably testify that the policy would not have been issued had the insurer known of the existing damage.
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected] and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
Now available Barry Zalma’s newest book, The Tort of Bad Faith, available here. The new book is available as a Kindle book, a paperback or as a hard cover.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...