Insured Admits Loss Caused by Flood Sufficient to Deny Claim
See the full video at https://rumble.com/v1iwpvj-appeal-fails-when-ground-for-judgment-not-disputed.html and at
Virginia Sosa appealed from the county court’s orders granting summary judgment in favor of appellee Auto Club Indemnity Co. (“Auto Club”) and denying Sosa’s motion for new trial. The court granted summary judgment on several grounds raised by Auto Club, including that Sosa’s claims were barred by limitations and by the exclusion in her homeowner’s insurance policy for damages caused by flood and surface water. In Virginia Sosa v. Auto Club Indemnity Co., No. 01-21-00312-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, First District (August 30, 2022) the Court of Appeal resolved the dispute because Sosa did not, challenge the summary judgment ground that her claims were caused by flood or surface water, which is expressly excluded from coverage under her homeowner’s policy.
BACKGROUND
Sosa’s house was damaged during Hurricane Harvey on August 26, 2017. Shortly thereafter, Sosa filed a claim with Auto Club, which insured her house. Sosa reported that two feet of floodwater had entered her home, her roof was missing shingles and was leaking, and she had sustained interior damage. Auto Club determined that her damage was caused by flood water, which was expressly excluded from coverage under Sosa’s homeowner’s insurance policy that was in effect during Hurricane Harvey.
On September 26, 2017, Auto Club denied her claim. On November 11, 2020, almost three years after the denial and more than three years after the damage, Sosa filed suit against Auto Club for breach of the insurance policy.
Sosa filed a first amended petition, which was her live pleading when the county court entered summary judgment against her. Sosa’s amended petition was identical to her original petition except that it changed the date of loss from August 26, 2017, to June 28, 2019.
AUTO CLUB’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
Auto Club filed a traditional motion for summary judgment arguing that it was entitled to judgment as a matter of law on several grounds effective grounds. Auto Club argued that Sosa’s claims are time barred by the two-year-and-one-day limitations period contained in Sosa’s policy because Sosa filed the lawsuit more than three years after her claims accrued, and that Sosa’s policy did not cover loss from flood or surface water, which it contended was the basis of Sosa’s claimed damage.
COUNTY COURT’S RULING AND MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL
The county court granted Auto Club’s summary judgment motion. The court also found that Auto Club had disproved several elements of Sosa’s breach of contract action; flood and surface water damages were not covered under the policy; and all flood and surface water damages were excluded from coverage. The court ordered that Sosa take nothing and dismissed her claims with prejudice.
SUMMARY JUDGMENT
Sosa, as an appellant must challenge each independent ground that could fully support the trial court’s challenged ruling. When an unchallenged ground supports a complained-of ruling or judgment, the Court of Appeal must accept the validity of that unchallenged independent ground, and thus any error in the grounds challenged on appeal is harmless because the unchallenged independent ground fully supports the complained-of ruling or judgment.
Auto Club sought summary judgment on four grounds.
Auto Club argued that Sosa’s claimed damages were excluded from coverage under the homeowner’s policy, and therefore it was not liable for her damages.
Auto Club argued that Sosa’s claims were time barred.
Auto Club argued that its evidence disproved several elements of Sosa’s breach of contract claim.
Auto Club argued that Sosa’s extracontractual claims were not viable in the absence of a breach of contract.
The Failure to Dispute a Ground for Summary Judgment
On appeal, Sosa challenged only three of the four grounds. Sosa did not challenge the summary judgment order on the ground that her claimed damages were covered under the policy. Indeed, her appellate brief does not mention flood or surface water.
A policy provision that excludes claimed damages is an independent ground that supports dismissal of such claims. Because Sosa’s claims are contractual in nature and Auto Club’s liability for her claims flows from the homeowner’s policy, Auto Club is not liable for damages that are expressly excluded under the insurance policy.
The appellate court concluded that it need not decide whether summary judgment is meritorious on all stated grounds in order to affirm. Because Sosa did not challenge the ruling on appeal the flood exclusion ground independently supports summary judgment in Auto Club’s favor.
No alt text provided for this image
Any other error about which Sosa complained on appeal is harmless considering the unchallenged ground supporting the summary judgment order. Because summary judgment was proper the county court did not abuse its discretion by denying her motion for new trial.
Summary judgment was proper. The Court of Appeal concluded that the county court did not act arbitrarily, unreasonably, or without reference to guiding rules or principles in denying Sosa’s motion for new trial.
The trial judgment was affirmed.
ZALMA OPINION
The facts established that Auto Club had four viable grounds for summary judgment, one of which Sosa did not dispute nor even mention in her appellate briefing. As a result the Court of Appeal had no choice but to affirm the decision of the County Court because her pleadings admitted that the Auto Club’s position was correct. That she tried to cheat by changing the date of loss was contumacious but, in effect, a wasted effort that should have been sanctioned.
No alt text provided for this image
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
No alt text provided for this image
Now available Barry Zalma’s newest book, The Tort of Bad Faith, available here.
The new book is available as a Kindle book, a paperback or as a hard cover.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith
Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma
A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.
Post 4568
In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.
The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...