Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 30, 2022
A Five-Year Lease is not Temporary

A Lawyer Should Never Sue an Insurer When There is Obviously no Coverage

Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/five-year-lease-temporary-barry-zalma-esq-cfe and See the full video at https://rumble.com/v1htsm3-a-five-year-lease-is-not-temporary.html and at

and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4300 posts.

A Lawyer Should Never Sue an Insurer When There is Obviously no Coverage

See the full video at https://rumble.com/v1htsm3-a-five-year-lease-is-not-temporary.html and at

This case involves an insurance dispute in which Appellant, Benjamin G. Dusing (Dusing), alleges that a 2016 leased Mercedes was properly insured by Appellee, Metropolitan Property & Casualty Insurance Company (Metropolitan). Metropolitan disclaims coverage for the vehicle, which was destroyed by fire on June 25, 2016.

In Benjamin G. Dusing v. Metropolitan Property & Casualty Insurance Company, No. 2021-CA-0200-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (August 26, 2022) Dusing claimed he was driving the vehicle at the time it caught fire. As a of Metropolitan’s refusal to pay Dusing sued for declaratory judgment in Kenton Circuit Court on June 21, 2017. The court subsequently granted what is styled as Metropolitan’s “Motion for Judgment,” on the basis that there was no coverage pursuant to the terms of insurance policy with Metropolitan (hereafter, the Policy).

A motion for summary judgment should be granted if the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, stipulations, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.

THE POLICY

The Policy at issue here provides the following relevant terms:

We will pay for loss to your covered automobile or to a non-owned automobile, including its equipment, not caused by collision, minus any applicable deductible shown in the Declarations. Coverage is included for a loss caused by but not limited to the following:


Fire, explosion or earthquake . . . .

The Policy defines “non-owned automobile” as:

an automobile or trailer while being used by you or a relative, with the owner’s permission, which is not owned by, furnished to, or made available for regular use to you or any resident in your household.

2.a commercially rented automobile or trailer used by you or a relative on a temporary basis.

In granting a judgment in favor of Metropolitan, the circuit court reasoned as follows:

On March 31, 2016, BGD Law, a law firm owned by [Dusing] leased the 2016 Mercedes for a period of five years or 60,000 miles. That lease also provided a 24-month service agreement. The lease also charged BGD Law fees for license and registration of the vehicle.

Dusing asserted that he is entitled to coverage for the loss of the 2016 Mercedes, claiming that that vehicle was a “non-owned” vehicle under the policy. In response Metropolitan takes the position that the 2016 Mercedes could not qualify as a “non-owned” vehicle for several reasons.

The 2016 Mercedes was not provided on a temporary basis, but rather was the subject of a 5-year, 60,000 mile lease, with a 24-month service agreement.

Metropolitan states that the vehicle was not “commercially rented.” Unlike a rental agreement, the 2016 Mercedes was provided to BGD Law and charged license and registration fees which are not standard for “commercially rented” vehicles. Having reviewed the evidence in this case and having considered the Briefs of the parties, this Court agrees with the position taken by Metropolitan that the 2016 Mercedes was not a “non-owned” vehicle which would allow it to be covered by the policy issued in 2015. In sum, there is no coverage for the loss to this vehicle under the Metropolitan policy.

It is undisputed that Dusing failed to purchase insurance coverage for the 2016 Mercedes. Therefore, it is not a “covered vehicle” pursuant to the Policy which, to be clear, is Dusing’s personal Policy.

The Court of Appeal was logically inclined to agree with the circuit court that a vehicle subject to a five-year lease cannot reasonably be considered as “non-owned” for purposes of the Policy. Indeed, it strains credulity to consider the 2016 Mercedes at issue here to be a “commercially rented” vehicle being used on a “temporary basis,” merely because it was being leased by Dusing’s law firm. Therefore, it was unreasonable to conclude that Dusing had a “reasonable expectation” of coverage.

ZALMA OPINION

This case is an example ofa lawyer attempting to force an insurer to pay for a loss he knew, or reasonably should have known, was not covered by his personal auto insurance. A car leased by his law firm and provided for his use is not a personal auto, leased for five years could not be considered “temporary” under any concept of reason, and should have been insured by the law firm that leased it. Although he had an insurable interest in the Mercedes he failed to advise the insurer that it was leased for his use nor did he pay a premium for the policy. Taking the case up to the Court of Appeal was a waste of his time, the trial court’s time and the time of the Court of Appeal.

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

00:07:47
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals