Assuming that Coverage Exists Does not Make a Contract
Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/contract-without-offer-acceptance-barry-zalma-esq-cfe and see the full video at https://rumble.com/v1gh8uj-no-contract-without-offer-and-acceptance.html and at
and at https://claimschool.com/?p=137 plus more than 4300 posts at https://zalma.com/blog.
Posted on August 19, 2022 by barryzalma
See the full video at https://rumble.com/v1gh8uj-no-contract-without-offer-and-acceptance.html and at
Barry A. Lindsten appealed a circuit court order dismissing his action against Astronautics Corporation of America (Astronautics) and Robertson Ryan &Associates, Inc. and Michael R. Schulte (Robertson Ryan).
In Barry A. Lindsten, Sarah M. Lindsten v. Astronautics Corporation of America, Mayo Medical Plan, Trumbull Insurance Company, Hartford Casualty Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company, Defendants, Robertson Ryan &Associates, Inc. and Michael R. Schulte, ABC Insurance Company, No. 2021AP115, Court of Appeals of Wisconsin, District I (August 16, 2022) the Court of Appeals resolved the issues raised by Lindsten.
BACKGROUND
On August 13, 2016, in Milwaukee County, a motor vehicle struck a rental vehicle driven by Lindsten. At the time of the accident, Lindsten was in Wisconsin to perform work for his employer, Astronautics, who provided and paid for the rental vehicle.
Lindsten alleged that Astronautics and its insurance agent/broker, Robertson Ryan, had failed to provide underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. Astronautics moved to lift the stay for the limited purpose of addressing whether it was a proper party in the case.
The circuit court granted Astronautics’ motion to lift the stay and allowed the parties to conduct discovery on the following limited issues: (1) whether Lindsten was acting within the scope of his employment for Astronautics when the accident at issue took place; and (2) whether Astronautics entered into a contract with Lindsten to specifically provide UIM coverage.
Lindsten filed an amended complaint. Lindsten raised two causes of action against Astronautics: (1) breach of an oral contract; and (2) reformation. According to Lindsten, on or prior to the date of the accident, he was informed by Astronautics’ travel administrator that Astronautics “would provide full insurance coverage” and “would take care of all his insurance needs on rental cars.” Based on prior travel experience with previous employers, Lindsten assumed this included UIM coverage. Lindsten further alleged that the travel administrator informed him that he should sign an insurance waiver to specifically opt out of the insurance coverage offered by the rental agency in favor of the coverage provided by Astronautics.
In regards to Robertson Ryan, Lindsten also raised two causes of action: (1) breach of contract; and (2) negligence. Lindsten alleged that Astronautics had specifically requested that Robertson Ryan provide UIM coverage, and that Robertson Ryan had failed to procure a policy that would provide UIM coverage. Further, Lindsten alleged that if Robertson Ryan had procured the UIM coverage, Lindsten would have been a third-party beneficiary of any such insurance coverage.
Both Astronautics and Robertson Ryan filed a motion to dismiss. Astronautics contended that the allegation that Astronautics agreed to take care of all of Lindsten’s insurance needs was not specific enough to cover an offer to provide UIM coverage, thus, no contract was created. Further, Astronautics contended that only written contracts could be reformed.
The circuit court granted the motions to dismiss. The court explained that a “specific offer” is required to create an insurance contract, and that it is not enough to simply allege that there was an offer for “insurance,” “full coverage,” or “insurance needs.” Rather, the pleadings needed to specifically refer to UIM coverage.
DISCUSSION
A motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim tests the legal sufficiency of the complaint. To survive a motion to dismiss, a complaint must contain a short and plain statement of the claim, identifying the transaction or occurrence or series of transactions or occurrences out of which the claim arises and showing that the pleader is entitled to relief. In other words, a complaint must plead facts, which if true, would entitle the plaintiff to relief.
Whether a complaint states a claim upon which relief may be granted is a question of law that we review de novo, benefitting from the circuit court’s decision. The court will accept as true the factual allegations in the complaint but will not accept any legal conclusions. Factual allegations must be more than labels and conclusions or a formulaic recitation of the elements of a cause of action.
On appeal, Lindsten asserts that the circuit court erred in granting the motions to dismiss. When certain conditions exist, a statute provides the exclusive remedy for recovery for an employee against an employer. Lindsten’s brief-in-chief fails to address why this doctrine does not apply. We generally do not address undeveloped arguments, and we decline to do so here. The trial court’s decision was affirmed.
ZALMA OPINION
A person cannot create a contract without being able to prove that there was an offer, acceptance of the offer, and payment of consideration. Lindsten claimed that there was an oral contract to provide him all insurance he needed. Even if there was an offer and acceptance of that offer it was too vague to make sense or to be enforceable. Insurance is a contract between the insurer and the insured. Lindsten was neither an insurer nor was he an insured. He was the employee of the insured.
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote
Post 4576
Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00
In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:
To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.
The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...
Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise
Post 4574
In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.
An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).
LAW
According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...
Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds
Post 4573
Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).
THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT
Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.
The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...