Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
May 25, 2022
Estoppel Cannot Create Insurance Coverage

Lack of Bodily Injury, Personal Injury or Occurrence Bars Coverage

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gK-3eQtY and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4200 posts.

Cambridge Mutual Fire Insurance Company (Cambridge) sued seeking a declaratory judgment that it did not owe Defendants Terry Gaca and Janet Waymen (collectively, “Defendants”) a duty to defend an underlying lawsuit under the terms of their insurance policy. Thomas J. Frederick sued in Illinois state court, alleging Defendants maintained a boarding house and a parking facility for large trucks on their property (the “Underlying Suit”). The Underlying Suit alleged public nuisance, conspiracy to create a public nuisance, and nine violations of City of Naperville (“Naperville”) zoning ordinances under the Adjoining Landowner Act, 65 ILCS 5/1113-15.

In Cambridge Mutual Fire Insurance Company v. Terry L. Gaca, and Janet L. Wayman, individually and as trustee of The Janet L. Wayman Trust, No. 20 C 2447, United States District Court, N.D. Illinois, Eastern Division (May 17, 2022) Cambridge moved for summary judgment.
BACKGROUND

Cambridge sued seeking a declaratory judgment that it did not owe Defendants Terry Gaca and Janet Waymen (collectively, “Defendants”) a duty to defend an underlying lawsuit under the terms of their insurance policy.

Defendants’ policy with Cambridge includes Homeowner’s Liability Insurance and Personal Umbrella Liability Insurance (the “Policy”). The Policy provides:

If a claim is made or a suit is brought against an “insured” for damages because of “bodily injury” or “property damage” caused by an “occurrence” or “personal injury” caused by an offense to which this policy applies, we:

1. Will provide a defense at our expense by counsel of our choice, even if the suit is groundless, false or fraudulent.

“‘Bodily injury’ means bodily harm, sickness or disease, including required care, loss of services and death that results.” “‘Property damage’ means physical injury to, destruction of, or loss of use of tangible property.” “‘Personal injury’ means injury arising out of . . . [t]he wrongful eviction from, wrongful entry into, or invasion of right of private occupancy of a room, dwelling or premises that a person occupies, committed by or on behalf of its owner, landlord or lessor . . .”. Finally, “‘[o]currence’ means an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful conditions, which results . . . in: ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage.’”

The Policy also contains several exclusions. Coverage does not apply to:

“Bodily injury” or “property damage” which is expected or intended by an “insured” even if the resulting “bodily injury” or “property damage”;

is of a different kind, quality or degree than initially expected or intended; or

is sustained by a different person, entity, real or personal property, than initially expected or intended….

“Personal injury”:

caused by or at the direction of an “insured” with the knowledge that the act would violate the rights of another and would inflict “personal injury”….

Based on these events, Cambridge alleged the Underlying Suit does not involve “property damage, ” “personal injury, ” or an “occurrence” under the Policy and moved for summary judgment.
DISCUSSION

The parties agree Illinois law applies. In Illinois, the construction of an insurance policy is a question of law. An insurance policy is to be construed as a whole and requires the court to ascertain and give effect to the true intentions of the contracting parties.

If the underlying complaint alleges facts that fall “within or potentially within” the coverage of the policy, the insurer is obligated to defend its insured even if the allegations are “groundless, false, or fraudulent.” United States Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. Wilkin Insulation Co., 144 Ill.2d 64, 73 (1991) (emphasis in original).

FIRST: an “occurrence” is “an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful conditions.” Cambridge specifically argues there is no “accident.” Illinois courts have defined “accident” for the purpose of insurance coverage disputes as “an unforeseen occurrence, usually an undesigned sudden or unexpected event of an inflictive or unfortunate character.” [W. Am. Ins. Co. v. Mw. Open MRI, Inc., 2013 IL App (1st) 121034, ¶ 22]

The relevant inquiry is “whether the injury is expected or intended by the insured, not whether the acts were performed intentionally.”

The complaint in the Underlying Suit asserts public nuisance, conspiracy to create public nuisance, and violations of Naperville ordinances The complaint alleges Defendants intentionally conspired to violate the public’s rights and avoid enforcement of Naperville’s ordinances. Further, the complaint establishes Defendants knew their use of the property as a boarding house and truck lot violated Naperville ordinances, and even sued Naperville to challenge the legality of the ordinances. The complaint in the Underlying Suit establishes the injuries were intentional, not accidental. Therefore, there was no “occurrence” as that term is defined in the Policy.

SECOND: Defendants must be the “owner, landlord, or lessor” of the “room, dwelling or premises” where the alleged invasion occurred. Because Frederick is the owner of the property that was “invaded,” there is no “personal injury” alleged in the Underlying Suit.
Estoppel

To establish equitable estoppel under Illinois law, Defendants must show:

[Cambridge] misrepresented or concealed material facts;

[Cambridge] knew at the time [it] made the representations that they were untrue;

[Defendants] did not know that the representations were untrue when they were made and when they were acted upon;

[Cambridge] intended or reasonably expected that [Defendants] would act upon the representations;

[Defendants] reasonably relied upon the representations in good faith to [their] detriment; and

[Defendants] would be prejudiced by [their] reliance on the representations if [Cambridge] is permitted to deny the truth thereof.

Defendants failed to establish equitable estoppel. Defendants have not shown Cambridge misrepresented any material facts. The undisputed facts show Cambridge denied coverage at all times. Defendants do not show they detrimentally relied on any misrepresentation by Cambridge.

Defendants say Cambridge is estopped from denying coverage because an insurance company cannot deny coverage and file a declaratory judgment suit. This argument is unsupported by the facts and applicable law. The estoppel doctrine cannot create coverage where none existed in the first place. Because Cambridge followed Illinois law and does not have a duty to defend under the Policy, Defendants’ estoppel arguments fail.

THIRD: Defendants argue Cambridge is estopped from denying coverage because it waited too long to file this action. The Underlying Suit was filed in August 2019, while this action was filed in March 2020. But we need not determine if this delay was unreasonable because, as with Defendants’ second estoppel argument, the doctrine does not apply if the insurer did not breach its duty to defend.

The Court granted Cambridge’s Motion for Summary Judgment.
ZALMA OPINION

Liability insurance covers a large possibility of claims made against an insured that could potentially be covered by the policy. However, no insurance policy covers every possible loss and never will cover intentional torts. Since the claims were all intentional the insured’s tried to claim that the actions of Cambridge estopped them from denying the request for defense and indemnity. They failed for lack of evidence.

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].

Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
12 hours ago
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
October 13, 2026

Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property

Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma

When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved

A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property

Post 4862

In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026)  Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”

In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...

post photo preview
October 09, 2026
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4860

In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.

In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.

LAW

Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals