Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
May 17, 2022
Lack of Covered Concurrent Cause Defeats Concurrent Cause Argument

Clear & Unambiguous Exclusion Affirmed

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g3ps9dU7 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4200 posts.

Posted on May 17, 2022 by Barry Zalma

Amy Higgs (“Higgs”) individually and on behalf of her deceased son, Cayson Emmit Turnmire (“Cayson”), sued David Payne (“Payne”) for the negligent maintenance of his property in relation to Cayson’s death by drowning in Payne’s swimming pool. Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company (“Tennessee Farmers”), Payne’s homeowners’ insurance carrier, sued seeking declaratory judgment the Trial Court against Payne and Higgs. Tennessee Farmers argued that, due to an exclusion in Payne’s homeowners’ insurance policy against claims “arising from or in connection with the swimming pool,” it is not obligated to defend or indemnify Payne. Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company v. David Payne, et al., No. W2021-00376-COA-R3-CV, Court of Appeals of Tennessee (May 13, 2022)

Tennessee Farmers and Higgs filed cross motions for summary judgment. The Trial Court granted Tennessee Farmers’ motion and denied Higgs’ motion. Higgs appealed.
THE APPEAL

Citing the concurrent cause doctrine, Higgs argued that Tennessee Farmers must defend and indemnify Payne as, apart from the pool, certain non-excluded causes contributed to Cayson’s death-namely, Payne’s failure to fence or gate his property.
OPINION

Higgs, individually and on behalf of her deceased son, Cayson, sued Payne for the negligent maintenance of his property in relation to Cayson’s death by drowning in Payne’s swimming pool. As Higgs did laundry, Cayson wandered into Payne’s yard, climbed up on his unsecured deck, and drowned in Payne’s swimming pool. Tennessee Farmers asserted that, based on an exclusion contained in Payne’s policy, it had no obligation to defend or indemnify Payne in this matter. The exclusion states:

PERSONAL LIABILITY AND MEDICAL PAYMENTS TO OTHERS COVERAGE PROVIDED BY THIS POLICY SHALL NOT PROVIDE PROTECTION FOR ANY CLAIMS OR DAMAGES ARISING FROM OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE SWIMMING POOL ON THE INSURED PREMISES.

The Trial Court entered an order granting Tennessee Farmers’ motion for summary judgment and denying Higgs’ motion for summary judgment.

The Complaint is predicated upon negligence by Defendant as it relates to the pool where the Complaint alleges, among other things:

Defendant Payne did not have a fence or gate around the pool or his property. Rather, he had a deck that partially surrounded the aboveground pool, providing easy access to the pool[.]

The child’s death was proximately caused by Defendant’s failure to maintain his property and pool in a reasonable and safe manner and condition.

Defendant’s breaches of duty include but were not limited to:

Failing to have a fence around his pool and/or property,

Failing to have a gate to prevent access to his pool,

Failing to secure, lock, or remove the steps to the aboveground pool to prevent access to the pool,

Failing to have a pool alarm,

Failing to exercise reasonable and ordinary care under the circumstances, and

Defendant is guilty of violating Tenn[.] Code Ann[.], §68-14-801 et Seq “Katie Beth’s Law” (Pool Alarms) and said violation constitutes negligence per se and was a direct and proximate cause of the minor child’s death and injuries[.]

At the time of the incident, based on the relevant undisputed facts: Defendant’s property was insured by an all-risk policy with Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company for which he was paying a premium.
ANALYSIS

Viewing the complaint and evidence in the light most favorable to Respondent Higgs, the claims in the Complaint arise from or in connection with the swimming pool on Respondent David Payne’s property and although they may have been otherwise covered under the general terms of the “all-risk policy” the Court of Appeal concluded that it was clear that the endorsement expressly excludes coverage, and the Court finds no ambiguity in the words “arising from or in connection with the pool” or its applicability in this case[.]

Further, it is of no consequence that the policy does not explicitly provide an exclusion concerning coverage for claims or damages arising from or in connection to Defendant’s decks or other defects or deficiencies on Respondent Payne’s property such as lack of fencing because these alleged breaches of duty are linked to the swimming pool.

There is no allegation that these alleged breaches of duty were defective any way other than as it relates to the pool and there are no allegations that injuries would have resulted if there was no pool.

In this case, there is no other separate cause or non-excluded cause for the injuries. As such, the concurrent coverage theory is not applicable.

The Tennessee Supreme Court most recently addressed the concurrent cause doctrine in Clark v. Sputniks, LLC, 368 S.W.3d 431 (Tenn. 2012), a case featuring an issue of whether liability insurance coverage existed so as to cover plaintiffs’ injuries stemming from an altercation at the insured’s bar and restaurant.

Tennessee recognizes the concurrent cause doctrine, which provides that there is insurance coverage in a situation “where a nonexcluded cause is a substantial factor in producing the damage or injury, even though an excluded cause may have contributed in some form to the ultimate result and, standing alone, would have properly invoked the exclusion contained in the policy.” Allstate Ins. Co. v. Watts, 811 S.W.2d 883, 887 (Tenn. 1991).

Higgs’ mere assertion or conclusion that homeowners are duty-bound in general to fence in their property, whether they have a swimming pool or not, is unsupported by any facts or law. The absence of a fence from Payne’s property is meaningful to the question of Tennessee Farmers’ obligation to defend and indemnify this claim only if it constituted a non-excluded concurrent cause of Cayson’s death not “arising from or in connection with the swimming pool on the insured premises.”

The chain of events leading to the ultimate harm did not begin with an excluded risk; it ended with one. Moreover, the issue with Higgs’ proffered non-excluded concurrent causes is not their sequence in the chain of events leading to Cayson’s death, but whether these proffered causes constitute non-excluded concurrent causes at all. Each of Higgs’ alleged non-excluded concurrent causes are bound up inextricably with Cayson’s tragic drowning in Payne’s pool, an excluded cause under Payne’s insurance policy.

Under the facts of this case, Higgs alleged non-excluded causes of no fence or gate securing Payne’s pool or property cannot be negligent except “in connection with the swimming pool on [Payne’s] premises.” In other words, it is not a matter of “but for” the pool; it is the pool only.

The language in Payne’s insurance policy is clear and unambiguous-there is no “personal liability” or “medical payments to others” coverage for any claims or damages “arising from or in connection with the swimming pool on the insured premises.”

Higgs’ complaint alleges no non-excluded concurrent cause. Tennessee Farmers is not obligated to defend or indemnify Payne in this matter. Having held that no non-excluded concurrent cause was alleged in this case, the judgment of the Trial Court is affirmed, and this cause is remanded to the Trial Court for collection of the costs below.
ZALMA OPINION

The concurrent cause doctrine has helped insured’s obtain insurance coverage in the face of a clear and unambiguous exclusion. However, there must be a covered cause of loss that concurs with the excluded cause in effecting the damage. In this case there was only one cause of the child’s death, the pool. Ms. Higgs is not without a remedy, she may still proceed against Payne and collect any judgment against his assets.
No alt text provided for this image

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].

Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
17 hours ago
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 20, 2026
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals