Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
April 27, 2022
You Only Get What You Pay For – No UIM Cover No Benefits

If You Refuse to Buy UM/UIM Coverage Mom’s Coverage Doesn’t Cover You

Barry Zalma

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gYExHqDp and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4200 posts.
Posted on April 27, 2022 by Barry Zalma

Lloyd, Janet, and Eric Colebank (collectively, Appellants) appealed from the September 22, 2021 order entered in the Fayette County Court of Common Pleas, granting the motion for judgment on the pleadings filed by Erie Insurance Exchange (Erie) in this declaratory judgment action. The crux of Appellants’ argument is that the trial court erred when it relied upon the policy provisions of a separate insurance policy, issued by a separate insurance carrier, to determine whether coverage was owed by Erie. In Erie Insurance Exchange v. Lloyd Colebank, Janet Colebank And Eric Colebank, No. 1244 WDA 2021, Superior Court of Pennsylvania (April 20, 2022) the trial court refused to be controlled by Eric’s serious injuries and found the family exclusion and the rejection of UIM coverage for his own vehicle, gave up the right to UIM benefits.
FACTS

Lloyd and Janet are husband and wife, and Eric is their 27-year-old son, who resides with them in Fayette County. On February 2019, Eric was driving his 2016 Jeep Wrangler SUV, which he owned, southbound on Brownsville Road, Jefferson Township, Fayette County, Pennsylvania. At the same time, the tortfeasor, Wilbert Brown, was operating his vehicle northbound on the same road when he lost control of his vehicle, crossed the center line, and collided with Eric’s vehicle. As a result of the accident, Eric suffered numerous personal injuries, which required several surgeries.

Eric filed a personal injury claim against Brown, who was insured by Allstate Insurance under a policy that provided $25,000.00 in bodily injury liability coverage. On behalf of Brown, Allstate tendered the $25,000.00 liability limits to Eric. Eric, through his counsel, advised Erie of the Allstate tender, and Erie waived subrogation and consented to the settlement with Allstate. The parties agree that the injuries and damages suffered by Eric as a result of the underlying accident exceeded the $25,000.00 policy limits.

At the time of the accident, Eric’s Jeep was insured under a policy issued to Eric by State Farm (the State Farm Policy). Eric specifically rejected underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage under his State Farm Policy.

Eric subsequently submitted a claim for UIM coverage to Erie under an insurance policy issued to Lloyd and Janet, that provided for, inter alia, UIM benefits in specifically defined circumstances (the Erie Policy). The Erie Policy insured two vehicles, neither of which was involved in the accident at issue or owned by Eric. The Erie Policy provides for $100,000.00 of UIM with stacking and two vehicles, for a total of $200,000.00 in UIM benefits. Erie collected premiums from Lloyd and Janet for UIM and stacked UIM benefits under their policy.

The Erie Policy contained a household exclusion clause in its UIM endorsement.

Erie filed a motion for judgment on the pleadings, alleging that:

Eric was operating a vehicle owned by him and insured under a different automobile insurance policy (the State Farm Policy) at the time of the underlying accident;

Eric knowingly and voluntarily rejected UM/UIM coverage under the State Farm Policy, which insured the Jeep he was driving when the accident occurred; and therefore,

Erie did not owe a duty to tender UIM benefits to Eric under the Erie Policy issued to Lloyd and Janet pursuant to applicable Pennsylvania law and the Erie Policy exclusion provision.

Following the argument, the court entered an order granting Erie’s motion. The court stated:

“[It] has applied the persuasive reasoning set forth in Erie Insurance Exchange v. Sutherland, [1113 WDA 2020, 2021 WL 2827321 (Pa. Super. July 7, 2021) (unpub. memo),] and finds that Donovan v. State Farm [Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, 256 A.3d 1145 (Pa. 2021),] is distinguishable from the facts of this case since the insured did not waive or reject underinsured motorist benefits as [Eric] Colebank did here.”

ANALYSIS

The standard of review over a decision sustaining a judgment on the pleadings requires us to determine whether, on the facts averred, the law makes recovery impossible. [Cagey v. Commonwealth, 179 A.3d 458, 463 (Pa. 2018)]. Eric contended that Erie promised to pay UIM benefits to the named insureds and their resident relatives if they were injured by an underinsured motorist up to the amount of UIM coverage purchased.

Based on the nature of the appeal the appellate court found it was necessary to explain the relevant legal history concerning UIM coverage and the household exclusion. A person who has voluntarily elected not to carry underinsured motorist coverage on his own vehicle is not entitled to recover underinsured motorist benefits from separate insurance policies issued to family members with whom he resides where clear and unambiguous “household exclusion” language explicitly precludes underinsured motorist coverage for bodily injury suffered while occupying a motor vehicle not insured for underinsured motorist coverage.

After a detailed review of UM/UIM precedent, the Superior Court, contrary to Appellants’ arguments, found two prior cases dispositive as both cases are substantially similar in facts and procedural posture to this case. In all three cases, the insured suffered injuries while operating a vehicle or motorcycle and the individual had explicitly rejected UIM coverage on that host policy. Likewise, the injured individual sought coverage from a separate policy that included stacked UIM coverage and a household exclusion provision. Since Eric did not purchase UIM coverage for his own policy he did not have the requisite UIM coverage on which to stack his parents household policies with UIM benefit.

For the foregoing reasons Appellants were not entitled to UIM benefits under their Erie policy in the case sub judice. Accordingly, we affirm the trial court’s order granting Erie’s motion for judgment on the pleadings.
ZALMA OPINION

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverages must be intentionally purchased or rejected. In this case Eric rejected UM/UIM coverage on the vehicle involved in the accident. Because his injuries were greater than the insurance available to the tortfeasor he sought UIM coverage from policies issued to his parents vehicles that were not involved in the accident. Coverage was clearly and unambiguously excluded and the attempt to get an insurer to pay for damages that exceeded available insurance can’t change the facts or the law.

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].

Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
6 hours ago
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals