Deemer Statute Does Not Provide Coverage Not Purchased
Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/lie-where-car-garaged-may-save-premium-defeated-um-zalma-esq-cfe and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4150 posts.
Posted on April 5, 2022 by Barry Zalma
Deemer statutes, like the one enacted in New Jersey, an automobile insurance company that sells insurance both in New Jersey and in other jurisdictions is deemed to have provided the minimum PIP coverage required by New Jersey law. In Juan Guiterrez-Ganan v. Allstate Insurance Company, No. A-0646-20, Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division (April 1, 2022) Juan argued that the Deemer Statute compelled Allstate to provide uninsured motorist coverage.
Juan Guiterrez-Ganan was injured in an automobile accident when his car was struck by a car driven by an underinsured motorist. Plaintiff sued his insurance company, defendant Allstate Insurance Company (defendant or Allstate), seeking to obtain underinsured motorist benefits for his injuries and losses.
The trial court granted summary judgment to Allstate and dismissed his claims.
FACTS
On April 29, 2016, plaintiff’s car was rear-ended while he was operating his vehicle near an intersection in Atlantic City. The driver of the other car was intoxicated and underinsured. As a result of the accident, plaintiff suffered personal injuries.
However, several years before 2016, plaintiff had lived in Georgia. While in Georgia, he purchased a 2010 Audi Q5, registered the car in Georgia, and obtained insurance coverage in Georgia from Allstate. In 2016 and for at least two years before, plaintiff lived and garaged his car in New Jersey.
Nevertheless, in 2016, plaintiff continued to register his car in Georgia and continued to purchase a Georgia-issued automobile insurance policy from Allstate. In his renewal application submitted in December 2015, for insurance coverage from January 2016 to July 2016, plaintiff listed his address at a street in “Savannah, Georgia.” At that time, plaintiff had a New Jersey driver’s license listing his address in “Galloway, New Jersey.” Plaintiff’s 2016 policy from Allstate did not include automobile medical payments or personal injury protection (PIP).
Plaintiff acknowledged that at the time of the accident in April 2016, he was a resident of New Jersey and had maintained and garaged his car in New Jersey for at least a year and a half before the accident.
Following the accident, Allstate paid $15,015.48 for medical expenses incurred by plaintiff, but refused to pay additional monies. In February 2019, plaintiff sued Allstate seeking underinsured motorist benefits. The trial court explained the reasons for its decision on the record but, after plaintiff appealed, the court amplified its reasons in a written opinion.
The trial court found that plaintiff’s Georgia insurance policy did not contain medical expense coverage required under New Jersey law. The trial court, therefore, held that plaintiff’s claims against Allstate were barred under N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.5(a). In that decision, the trial court rejected plaintiff’s argument that N.J.S.A. 17:28-1.4, the “Deemer Statute,” effectively meant he had maintained the minimum coverage required under New Jersey law.
ANALYSIS
The appeal involved the interpretation of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.5 as applied to the undisputed material facts.
Every owner of an automobile principally garaged in New Jersey must maintain minimum liability insurance coverage, including no-fault PIP coverage of $15, 000 per person. Every standard automobile liability insurance policy shall contain personal injury protection benefits. To determine whether an automobile is principally garaged in New Jersey, the key consideration is where the vehicle is primarily or chiefly kept or kept most of the time. Moreover, any driver moving to New Jersey must obtain a New Jersey driver’s license and register his or her car within sixty days of becoming a resident.
The statutory provision advances a policy of cost containment by ensuring that an injured, uninsured driver does not draw on the pool of accident-victim insurance funds to which he or she did not contribute. The statute gives the uninsured driver a very powerful incentive to comply with the compulsory insurance laws: obtain automobile liability insurance coverage or lose the right to maintain a suit for both economic and non-economic injuries.
Under New Jersey law, plaintiff was required but failed to maintain medical expense benefits coverage. Indeed, that coverage was available to him in his Georgia policy, but he elected not to pay for it. Applying the plain language of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.5(a), plaintiff is barred from seeking recovery of economic or non-economic losses.
Plaintiff argued that the bar of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.5(a) does not apply to him because he was not operating an uninsured automobile at the time of the accident. Under the Deemer Statute, an automobile insurance company that sells insurance both in New Jersey and in other jurisdictions is deemed to have provided the minimum PIP coverage required by New Jersey law.
The statute’s general purpose is to ensure that New Jersey residents injured as a result of an accident with an out-of-state vehicle will have recourse to policies of insurance that are at least as broad as the presumptive minimal limits of a New Jersey insurance policy. The Deemer Statute requires insurers authorized to transact automobile insurance business in New Jersey to provide coverage to out-of-state residents consistent with New Jersey law whenever the automobile or motor vehicle insured under the policy is used or operated in this State.
Plaintiff argued that, by virtue of this Deemer Statute, his policy included PIP benefits; therefore, he was not uninsured. Allstate gave plaintiff the benefit of the Deemer Statute and paid his medical expenses up to $15, 000. Even if the Deemer Statute did apply, plaintiff’s suit is still barred by N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.5(a) because he failed to maintain PIP benefits as required by New Jersey law.
The appellate court interpreted the phrase “while operating an uninsured automobile” to mean while operating an automobile that did not have the required PIP coverage. Plaintiff was barred from suing Allstate for underinsured or uninsured benefits seeking economic and non-economic losses stemming from the April 2016 automobile accident.
ZALMA OPINION
The action brought by the plaintiff was an insult to an insurer that paid his medical bills even though he had obtained the policy under false circumstance by claiming to reside in Georgia and that his car was garaged in Georgia. Rather than pay anything Allstate should have considered rescinding the policy because it was obtained by a knowing and material fraud. The court, although it reached an obviously correct decision, should have reported the plaintiff to the New Jersey Insurance Department Fraud Division since the policy he obtained from Allstate was based on a material false statement of fact.
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at
and [email protected].
Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...