Agent, as Insured, Claimed Knowledge of Agent/Insured’s Fraud is Imputed to the Insurer
Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/agent-insured-may-avoid-fraud-defense-barry-zalma-esq-cfe and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4100 posts.
Posted on March 3, 2022 by Barry Zalma
An insurer asserted a fraud defense to claims for death benefits under life insurance policies.
With what the Court of Appeal called “some unusual twists” Security National Life Insurance Company (Security) issued two life insurance policies to its own insurance agent, Destiney Kashia Xiong (Destiney), insuring the life of Wang Y. Xiong (Wang), a man Destiney claimed was her father. When Wang died, Security denied Destiney’s claims and attempted to rescind the policies, but it did not then allege that Destiney had committed any fraud. In Destiney Kashia Xiong v. Security National Life Insurance Company, No. 2019AP2320, Court of Appeals of Wisconsin, District III (February 22, 2022) the Court of Appeal resolved the issues raised and allowed the case to go to trial with the insurer asserting a fraud defense.
FACTS
Destiney sued for breach of contract and various torts. Security attempted to plead a fraud defense based on circumstances it claims to have learned of after Wang’s death-including that Wang was not Destiney’s father and that he was unaware the policies were even issued.
The circuit court granted partial summary judgment to Destiney on her breach of contract claim because it determined that Security did not comply with statutory notice requirements before attempting to rescind the policies. See Wis. Stat. § 631.11(1)(b), (4)(b) (stating that an insurer must, within specified time frames, notify the policyholder that the insurer intends to rescind or defend against a claim on the basis of fraud).
In 2016, while Destiney was employed as a Security insurance agent, she applied for and was issued two Security policies, together insuring Wang’s life for $35,000. The policies are materially identical except as to their benefit amounts.
For each policy, Destiney is the policyholder and beneficiary. The applications (incorporated into the policies) state that Destiney is Wang’s child; that they share an address in Eau Claire, Wisconsin; and that Wang does not have any of the medical conditions listed on the applications.
Wang died of a heart attack in February 2017, less than a year after he policies were issued. Security denied the claim and attempted – improperly – to rescind the policy. Destiney sued asserting a breach of contract claim for $35,000. In its answer Security raised several affirmative defenses, including that Destiney had “engaged in fraudulent conduct to procure the issuance of the policies.”
Referencing various discovery materials and Wang’s death certificate (listing his residence in the State of Arkansas), Security argued that there were disputed material facts as to whether Wang was in fact Destiney’s father; whether Wang lived in Wisconsin with Destiney; whether Wang was physically present with Destiney in Eau Claire when the applications were completed and submitted; and whether Wang had an undisclosed heart condition. According to Security, Destiney may have unilaterally acted as agent, policyholder, and beneficiary to secure policies insuring a man who was not her father and who lacked any knowledge of the policies.
Security further represented that, over the course of its investigation, it had learned that Destiney had entered into a consent order in Minnesota revoking her Minnesota agent’s license. That order was based on allegations that, while an agent, Destiney “sold a life insurance policy, which was delivered, signed, dated and finalized on the date the insured passed away” and that she had entered into an agreement with her client-the surviving spouse of the insured-to split the death benefit proceeds. That evidence is evidence of a willingness on the part of Destiney to defraud a life insurer.
The circuit court agreed with Destiney’s position and determined that Security was statutorily barred from raising fraud as an affirmative defense.
DISCUSSION
Summary Judgment Was Inappropriate on Destiney’s Contract Claim.
The circuit court granted summary judgment on Destiney’s breach of contract claim based on Security’s failure to comply with the notice requirements of Wis.Stat. § 631.11(4)(b).
For purposes of the appeal the Court of Appeal assumed that the December 2017 letter was an improper attempt to rescind the policies. However, Security’s sending the December 2017 letter does not affect its ability to raise a fraud defense based on “suspicious circumstances” it claims to have learned about after it sent the letter.
Destiney may or may not have a specific cause of action stemming from Security’s sending the December 2017 letter, but she has failed to show why Security’s subsequently asserted fraud defense is barred. Accordingly, the Court of Appeal concluded that Security’s attempted rescission has no bearing on its ability to assert a fraud defense.
Destiney also failed to establish sufficient facts as to when Security learned of the fraud, so as to entitle her to summary judgment on the grounds that Security failed to comply with the sixty-day notice requirement of Wis.Stat. § 631.11(4)(b).
Because Security raises a viable defense to Destiney’s contract claim, the circuit court erred in granting her summary judgment on that claim and Security can assert her fraud as a defense.
Security Did Not Have Constructive Knowledge Of Any Alleged Misrepresentations That Destiney Made To Procure The Policies.
Destiney argued that Security cannot assert a fraud defense because Security had constructive knowledge of any misrepresentations she made to procure the policies. She claimed that she was Security’s agent it must act as if her knowledge was knowledge attributed to Security. Essentially, as an agent, she claimed she had the right to defraud the insurer with impunity.
Wisconsin Stat. § 631.11(4)(a) protects a policyholder whose misrepresentation might ordinarily provide grounds for rescission or avoidance, where the insurer knew or should have known of the misrepresentation when it issued the policy. This paragraph provides that a misrepresentation cannot “constitute[] grounds for rescission of, or affect[] an insurer’s obligations under, an insurance policy if at the time the policy is issued the insurer has either constructive knowledge of those facts under [Wis. Stat. § 631.09(1)] or actual knowledge.”
The Court of Appeal concluded that Wis.Stat. § 631.09(1) should not operate to permit an agent and policyholder together to misrepresent some material fact otherwise unknown to the insurer. Therefore, § 631.09(4) provides that subsec. (1) does “not apply if the agent and the policyholder or insured acted in collusion to deceive or defraud the insurer.” The plain purpose of subsec. (4) is to protect the insurer from its agent’s malfeasance. That purpose can only be carried out by construing subsec. (4) to extend to the unusual circumstances before the court, concerning allegations that an agent fraudulently obtained a policy for herself as both policyholder and beneficiary.
Thus, where an individual acts in a dual capacity as both agent and policyholder to allegedly defraud the insurer, the “agent” may be considered to have “colluded” with the “policyholder.”
CONCLUSION
Wisconsin Stat. § 631.11(4)(b) does not preclude Security from asserting a fraud defense to Destiney’s claims, even given that Security’s earlier attempt at rescission may have been improper. In addition, Destiney’s knowledge of any fraud is not imputed to Security under Wis.Stat. § 631.09(4), which the Court of Appeal construed to prohibit the imputation of knowledge to an insurer where a dual agent/policyholder essentially “colludes” with herself.
ZALMA OPINION
Destiney’s claims are pure “chutzpah” – unmitigated gall – where she asserts a right to defraud an insurer she serves as an agent. Fortunately the Wisconsin Legislature understood the danger of such a claim and placed in the statute a provision where an insurer has the right to assert fraud as a defense when the agent/policyholder “colludes” with herself to defraud the insurer. The trial, if it goes forward, will be very interesting. In addition the court should have reported Destiney to the local authorities for attempting to use the courts to perpetrate a fraud. Of course, the problem would have been resolved if the insurer had completed a thorough investigation before denying the claim.
© 2022 – Barry Zalma
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders.
He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business.
Subscribe to “Zalma on Insurance” at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe and “Excellence in Claims Handling” at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
You can contact Mr. Zalma at https://www.zalma.com
, https://www.claimschool.com, [email protected] and [email protected] . Mr. Zalma is the first recipient of the first annual Claims Magazine/ACE Legend Award.
You may find interesting the podcast “Zalma On Insurance” at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; you can follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at; you should see Barry Zalma’s videos on https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg/featured; or videos on https://rumble.com/zalma. Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims–library/ The last two issues of ZIFL are available at https://zalma.com/zalmas-insurance-fraud-letter-2/
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...