Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
February 11, 2022
Failure to Fulfill Material Condition Defeats Claim for Defense or Indemnity

Injury Leaving Porta-Potty not Covered by CGL for Failure of Condition

Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/failure-fulfill-material-condition-defeats-claim-zalma-esq-cfe and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4050 posts.

Posted on February 11, 2022 by Barry Zalma

Mitchell Baudoin sued seeking recovery for personal injuries received in a construction site accident. The trial court granted a motion for summary judgment filed by defendant, Accident Insurance Company (“AIC”), and dismissed plaintiff’s claims as to it. In Mitchell Baudoin v. American Glass And Mirror Works, Inc., et al. No. 20-541, Court of Appeals of Louisiana, Third Circuit (February 2, 2022) the Court of Appeals resolved the coverage issue.
FACTS

Charles Goudeau d/b/a Charles Goudeau General Contractor (“Goudeau”) was the general contractor for a new construction project in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana. On March 6, 2017, plaintiff was installing flooring at the aforementioned construction site for Southern Tile Company, Inc. (“Southern Tile”) and was injured when he was struck by a vehicle being operated by Chad Fritz (“Fritz”) after exiting a portable restroom.

Plaintiff sued Goudeau and his insurer, AIC, among others, for personal injuries. AIC issued a commercial general liability policy (“CGL policy”) to Goudeau.

Plaintiff’s petition, in relevant part, alleged that plaintiff’s accident and attendant injuries were caused by the negligence of Goudeau.

AIC sought summary judgment alleging a lack of coverage on the basis that an endorsement within the CGL policy issued to Goudeau barred coverage for plaintiff’s claims. AIC contended there is no coverage for plaintiff’s claims because Goudeau failed to comply with conditions set forth in its Endorsement Form 3007, entitled “Contractors Special Conditions” (“Contractors Special Conditions endorsement”), which required a written indemnity agreement from the independent contractor holding the insured harmless and obtained certificates of insurance from the independent contractor indicating that the insured is named as an additional insured and that coverage is maintained with minimum limits of $500,000 per occurrence.

AIC asserted that prior to commencement of any work on the premises, its Contractors Special Conditions endorsement required Goudeau to adhere to the terms of the endorsement and obtain the requisite documents from subcontractors he obtained for the job as a condition of coverage for any claim for damage based, in whole or in part, upon work performed by independent contractors. Goudeau had not obtained any of the requisite documents and had not provided any evidence of certificate of liability insurance naming Goudeau as an additional insured from the subcontractors, which includes Southern Tile and American Glass.

At the conclusion of the hearing, the trial court accepted AIC’s contention the Contractors Special Conditions endorsement barred coverage for plaintiff’s claims against Goudeau.
LAW AND DISCUSSION

The conditions precedent to coverage requiring Goudeau to obtain particular indemnity agreements from subcontractors performing work on the construction project, as well as to obtain status as an additional insured under those subcontractors’ insurance policies.

The initial burden to establish that a claim falls within the policy coverage is on the plaintiff. If the wording of the policy is clear and expresses the parties’ intent, the policy must be enforced as written. This rule is applicable even to policy provisions that limit the insurer’s liability or place restrictions on policy obligations.. As the conditions for coverage under the liability policy clearly were not met, the trial court did not err in granting summary judgment in favor of the liability insurer.

The trial court did not err in granting AIC’s motion for summary judgment and dismissing plaintiff’s claims against it.
ZALMA OPINION

Louisiana is an interesting jurisdiction that allows a plaintiff to sue the insurer of the defendant in addition to the defendant. In this case the insurer had a mandatory condition requiring all subcontractors to obtain an indemnity agreement that names the insured as an additional insured and obtain evidence that the insurance existed. The insured admitted his contracts with the subcontractors were oral and the conditions were not met. By so doing the insured lost the right to indemnity or defense costs from AIC.

© 2022 – Barry Zalma

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders.

He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business.

Subscribe to “Zalma on Insurance” at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe and “Excellence in Claims Handling” at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

You can contact Mr. Zalma at https://www.zalma.com, https://www.claimschool.com, [email protected] and [email protected] . Mr. Zalma is the first recipient of the first annual Claims Magazine/ACE Legend Award.

You may find interesting the podcast “Zalma On Insurance” at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; you can follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at; you should see Barry Zalma’s videos on https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg/featured; or videos on https://rumble.com/zalma. Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims–library/ The last two issues of ZIFL are available at https://zalma.com/zalmas-insurance-fraud-letter-2/

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
9 hours ago
Expert Report Must Be Admissible or it Will be Excluded

No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith

Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma

A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.

Post 4568

In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.

The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals