Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
Live Chat
January 18, 2022
Conspicuous, Plain and Clear Exclusinon of Injury Arising Out of Asbestos Removal is Effective

Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/injured-while-abating-asbestos-clearly-excluded-zalma-esq-cfe and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4050 posts.

Injured While Abating Asbestos Clearly Excluded

Posted on January 18, 2022 by Barry Zalma

After a fire on one of its refineries injured two workers, killing one of them, appellant Motiva Enterprises LLC (Motiva) sought insurance coverage from the companies that insured the contractor that employed the workers. In Motiva Enterprises LLC v. National Fire & Marine Insurance Company, Axis Surplus Insurance Company et al., Maxum Indemnity Company, A159229, A159231, A159233, California Court of Appeals, First District, First Division (January 10, 2022) the Court of Appeal resolved the dispute.

The trial court concluded on summary judgment that because the workers had been abating asbestos, the relevant policies’ asbestos exclusions barred coverage. The Court of Appeal was asked to find coverage for Motiva.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Motiva is one of the world’s largest gasoline and diesel fuel refiners and suppliers and owns and operates the largest refinery in North America, located in Port Arthur, Texas. Under an agreement dated December 1, 2015, Motiva hired Excel Modular Scaffold and Leasing Corp. (Excel) to abate asbestos at the Port Arthur refinery. The agreement incorporated a broader “Framework Agreement.” Under the Framework Agreement, Motiva was to enroll Excel in its “Rolling Contractor Insurance Program.”

Excel also purchased insurance policies from AXIS Surplus Insurance Company (AXIS), Endurance American Specialty Insurance Company (Endurance), Maxum Indemnity Company (Maxum), and National Fire & Marine Insurance Company (National Fire). Each policy contained exclusions clauses, which “remove coverage for risks that would otherwise fall within the insuring clause.

Although all four policies included asbestos exclusions, the trial court disposed of the case by focusing on two of them: one in a primary policy issued by AXIS and one in the National Fire policy. The primary policy issued by AXIS excluded coverage for bodily injury “arising directly or indirectly” out of “the abating, … cleaning up, removing, . . . remediation or disposing of, or in any way responding to” asbestos. AXIS, Endurance, and Maxim all issued excess polices that adopted the asbestos exclusion in the AXIS primary policy. The National Fire policy excluded coverage for bodily injury “arising out of . . . [the] removal of . . . asbestos.”

An Excel crew was working to abate asbestos at the Port Arthur refinery from a section of a refinery line that was 60 feet in the air. After the asbestos was removed, the crew was lowered to the ground and started to wash the area with what they thought was water to remove any remaining asbestos from the scaffolding. But because of equipment or mechanical issues that are described in a sealed report, they actually sprayed a flammable liquid, causing an explosion and fire. One crew member suffered severe burns and later died, and his supervisor suffered neck injuries and posttraumatic stress disorder.

The supervisor and the deceased crew member’s survivors sued Motiva in Texas for the company’s alleged negligence. Motiva ultimately paid them as part of a settlement.

Motiva sued the insurers seeking indemnification for the settlement payment from Excel’s insurers. As amended, the complaint alleged causes of action for declaratory relief, breach of contract, and breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing.

The trial court issued orders separately granting the motions of Axis and Endurance, Maxum, and National Fire, all on the sole ground that the asbestos exclusion in either the AXIS or National Fire policy barred coverage.

DISCUSSION

The trial court relied on policy exclusions that barred coverage for any injuries “arising out of” asbestos abatement/removal. Insurance coverage is interpreted broadly to afford the insured the greatest possible protection, whereas exclusion clauses are to be interpreted narrowly against the insurer. But California courts have interpreted the terms “arising out of” or ‘arising from” broadly. It is settled that this language does not import any particular standard of causation or theory of liability into an insurance policy. Rather, it broadly links a factual situation with the event creating liability, and connotes only a minimal causal connection or incidental relationship.

It is undisputed that the victims who sued Motiva were working to abate asbestos on the date of the accident, and that their injuries were caused by a fire that occurred at the refinery at the end of their workday. Given these undisputed facts, it appears straightforward that the injuries arose out of asbestos abatement.

Motiva contends the asbestos exclusions did not apply because asbestos did not “cause” the accident under a “proximate causation” analysis. The California Supreme Court has construed Insurance Code section 530 as incorporating into California law the efficient proximate cause doctrine, an interpretive rule for first party insurance. The doctrine is the preferred method for resolving first party insurance disputes involving losses caused by multiple risks or perils, at least one of which is covered by insurance and one of which is not. The claims sought coverage, however, under a third party policy.

Motiva has failed to establish the existence of a covered event other than the asbestos-removal activities that concurrently caused the accident. It relies on a series of cases where courts analyzed whether concurrent causes resulted in injury, but these cases are inapplicable because here there were no such concurrent causes of the fire. Here there is no dispute that there was a connection between asbestos removal and the victims’ injuries.

The deadly fire would not have happened but for the asbestos abatement.  It is simply not the case that Motiva’s alleged liability is completely divorced from asbestos or asbestos abatement.

It is established that an insurer cannot escape its basic duty to insure by means of an exclusionary clause that is unclear. Any exception to the performance of the basic underlying obligation to defend and indemnify must be so stated as clearly to apprise the insured of its effect. Thus, the burden rests upon the insurer to phrase exceptions and exclusions in clear and unmistakable language. The exclusionary clause must be conspicuous, plain and clear. This rule applies with particular force when the coverage portion of the insurance policy would lead an insured to reasonably expect coverage for the claim purportedly excluded.

The burden is on the insured to establish that the claim is within the basic scope of coverage and on the insurer to establish that the claim is specifically excluded.

Motiva focuses on AXIS’s primary policy. The policy included a section titled “EXCLUSION-ASBESTOS” that, as Motiva acknowledges, excluded coverage for bodily injury arising directly or indirectly out of, among other things, “[a]ny loss, cost or expenses arising out of the abating, testing for, monitoring, cleaning up, removing, containing, treating, detoxifying, neutralizing, remediation or disposing of, or in any way responding to, or assessing the effects of asbestos, asbestos fibers, or any other form of asbestos, by any insured or by any other person or entity.” It further excluded coverage for “[a]ny injury or damage caused or alleged to have been caused by the removal, eradication, detoxification, remediation or decontamination of asbestos or property containing asbestos.” Contrary to Motiva’s contention, this is hardly language that would leave an ordinary insured-much less one of the largest gasoline and diesel fuel refiners in the world-“hopelessly confused by its overlapping provisions and its arcane language.”

ZALMA OPINION

Since there was no dispute that the injured workers were abating asbestos, the Court of Appeal had no need to rely on any strained or absurd definitions of those terms to conclude that the exclusion applies. Insurance policies are contracts. When, as in this case, an exclusions is conspicuous, plain and clear a court has no option but to enforce the exclusion.

© 2022 – Barry Zalma

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders.

He also serves as an arbitrator or mediator for insurance related disputes. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business.

Subscribe to “Zalma on Insurance” at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe and “Excellence in Claims Handling” at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

You can contact Mr. Zalma at https://www.zalma.com, https://www.claimschool.com, [email protected] and [email protected] . Mr. Zalma is the first recipient of the first annual Claims Magazine/ACE Legend Award.

You may find interesting the podcast “Zalma On Insurance” at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma;  you can follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at; you should  see Barry Zalma’s videos on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; or videos on https://rumble.com/zalma. Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims–library/ The last two issues of ZIFL are available at https://zalma.com/zalmas-insurance-fraud-letter-2/ 

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 09, 2026
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed

Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4860

In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.

In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.

LAW

Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...

post photo preview
October 05, 2026
Short And Plain Statement Containing Enough Factual Matter To State A Facially Plausible Claim

If Grounds For Dismissal Are Apparent From The Face Of The Complaint, A Court May Also Dismiss The Case on The Court’s Own Motion

Posted on October 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Pro Se Plaintiff Failed to Make a Short and Plain Statement

Post 4856

In Tak Lun Ng v. United Financial Casualty Company, No. 26-cv-03136-LJC, United States District Court, N.D. California (September 28, 2026) Tak Lun Ng, proceeding pro se, sued United Financial Casualty Company over a March 2, 2021 automobile accident and the insurer’s March 24, 2021 refusal to pay him.

He appeared to assert breach of contract, fraud, negligence, premises liability, product liability, and related theories. United removed the action from state court and moved to dismiss.

Ng missed that deadline but later filed several documents, including a motion for leave to amend, all of which the court reviewed.

LAW

Under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, a complaint must provide a short and plain statement containing enough factual matter to state a facially plausible...

post photo preview
October 05, 2026
Short And Plain Statement Containing Enough Factual Matter To State A Facially Plausible Claim

If Grounds For Dismissal Are Apparent From The Face Of The Complaint, A Court May Also Dismiss The Case on The Court’s Own Motion

Posted on October 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Pro Se Plaintiff Failed to Make a Short and Plain Statement

Post 4856

In Tak Lun Ng v. United Financial Casualty Company, No. 26-cv-03136-LJC, United States District Court, N.D. California (September 28, 2026) Tak Lun Ng, proceeding pro se, sued United Financial Casualty Company over a March 2, 2021 automobile accident and the insurer’s March 24, 2021 refusal to pay him.

He appeared to assert breach of contract, fraud, negligence, premises liability, product liability, and related theories. United removed the action from state court and moved to dismiss.

Ng missed that deadline but later filed several documents, including a motion for leave to amend, all of which the court reviewed.

LAW

Under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, a complaint must provide a short and plain statement containing enough factual matter to state a facially plausible...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals