Insurer’s Insistence on Keeping Premium Defeats Claim of Voidance for Breach of Condition
Posted on September 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4845
After USAA Learned Ford Had Sold The BMW, It Did Not Attempt To Revoke The Policy And Refund The Amount Ford Had Paid For Coverage and was Estopped or Waived it Right to Revoke Coverage
In Lisa White v. USAA Insurance Agency Incorporated, et al., No. CV-24-00378-PHX-KML, United States District Court, D. Arizona (September 10, 2026) Dezmond Ford purchased a USAA automobile policy covering a 2013 BMW for August 7 through December 27, 2020, and apparently paid the full premium.
Ford later sold the BMW to Jack Eddia without notifying USAA, but kept the policy active to avoid a coverage gap. Eddia obtained title and registration and, on November 1, 2020, struck and killed Lisa White’s son while driving the BMW. USAA had accepted premiums through the accident date and, after learning of the sale, did not refund the premium attributable to the post-sale period. White obtained a $3.75 million judgment against Eddia under a Damron agreement and, as Eddia’s assignee, sued USAA for breach of contract and bad faith.
LAW
Arizona generally requires an insurer relying on an insured’s breach of a notice condition to prove actual prejudice. The statute A.R.S. § 20-1105 makes a property insurance contract enforceable only for the benefit of a person with an insurable interest, defined as an actual, lawful, and substantial economic interest in preserving the insured property. Arizona waiver and estoppel precedent also bars an insurer from treating a policy as void to deny coverage while treating it as valid to retain premiums.
DISCUSSION
USAA asserted that the policy barred transfer or assignment, Ford breached the policy by failing to report the sale, and Ford’s sale extinguished his insurable interest.
White did not rely on any transfer or assignment theory; she argued Eddia was a covered person using a vehicle listed on the declarations and that USAA waived or was estopped from asserting lack of insurable interest because it retained the premiums.
USAA offered only a conclusory declaration that it would have canceled the policy and did not establish actual prejudice. On insurable interest, the court agreed that Ford’s sale generally extinguished his interest and would ordinarily make the policy inapplicable, but held that Arizona precedent prohibited USAA from invoking that defense while retaining the unearned premium.
ANALYSIS
The decisive point was the inconsistency in USAA’s position. Arizona cases establish that an insurer may waive forfeiture or be estopped when it knowingly retains premiums for a period during which it claims the policy was void.
Although the named insured’s lack of an insurable interest favored USAA on the underlying statutory question, USAA retained the premium attributable to coverage after Ford sold the vehicle and did not explain what that premium purchased if the policy had ceased to provide any coverage.
Because the relevant facts were undisputed, waiver or estoppel could be resolved as a matter of law. By contrast, USAA’s notice defense failed at summary judgment because it lacked legal and factual proof of actual prejudice.
Because White is not pursuing these theories, USAA’s arguments addressed to them are irrelevant. USAA is not entitled to summary judgment on claims or theories White is not pursuing.
There is no dispute that after USAA learned Ford had sold the BMW, it did not attempt to revoke the policy and refund the amount Ford had paid for coverage between August and December. immediately upon the sale of the BMW.
USAA is either estopped or it waived the insurable interest requirement by retaining the portion of premium attributable to the period after the sale of the BMW. USAA’s motion for summary judgment is denied and White’s motion is granted.
CONCLUSION
The court denied USAA’s motion for summary judgment and granted White’s motion for partial summary judgment. It held that USAA could not rely on the lack-of-insurable-interest defense after retaining the post-sale premiums.
ZALMA OPINION
The competence of the underwriting and claims departments of major insurers is difficult to find. Once the BMW was sold the insured had no interest in the vehicle and the policy should have been void but the seller continued to pay the premium. Once USAA learned of the sale it knew, or should have known, its insured had no interest in the vehicle and should have given notice the policy was void as of the date of the sale and returned premium paid after the sale. It did not and as a result – for a few dollars of premium – USAA exposed itself to pay a multimillion dollar judgment.
(c) 2026 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://gbarryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the InsuranceClaims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith
Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma
A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.
Post 4568
In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.
The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...