Bad Faith Suit Fails After Insurer Declares Policy Void
Posted on August 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
State Farm Must Try Breach of Contract Claim Only
Post 5424
Breach of Condition is Ground to Deny Claim and Void Policy
In Arutyun Darakchyan v. State Fann General Insurance Company et al., No. 2:25-cv-03880-CAS-AJRx, United States District Court, C.D. California (August 11, 2026) Plaintiff Arutyun Darakchyan sued State Farm General Insurance Company after State Farm denied his homeowners burglary claim for losses allegedly sustained at his Tarzana residence.
Plaintiff reported that burglars entered through a kitchen window while he and his family were away, claimed stolen property totaling more than $83,000, and submitted proof-of-loss materials, inventory lists, photos, alarm records, phone records, and later appeared for an examination under oath.
State Farm assigned the claim to its special investigative unit, questioned the timing and duration of the reported burglary, requested additional documents and records, identified discrepancies between the police report, inventory, receipts, and plaintiff’s testimony, and ultimately denied the claim based on alleged breaches of post-loss duties and alleged concealment or misrepresentation.
On February 20, 2024, State Farm took a recorded statement from plaintiff. Plaintiff reported that on the night of the burglary, his oldest son, Gregor, immediately left the party they were at and arrived at the Property a couple of minutes before plaintiff.
THE POLICY
The State Farm policy provided: “This policy is void as to [the insured] ... if [the insured] ... has intentionally concealed or misrepresented any material fact or circumstance relating to this insurance, whether before or after a loss.”
LAW:
Summary judgment is proper only when there is no genuine dispute of material fact and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Under California law, breach of contract requires a contract, plaintiff’s performance or excuse for nonperformance, defendant’s breach, and damages. California recognizes substantial compliance where the insured performs enough of the required obligations and does not completely fail to comply.
Breach of the Implied Covenant of Good Faith
State Farm argued that plaintiff s second claim for breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing fails because State Farm did not wrongfully withhold benefits due under the Policy. State Farm's denial of benefits was reasonable because State Fann's reasonably concluded that plaintiff breached the Policy. State Farm denial of the Claim was objectively reasonable.
DISCUSSION:
State Farm argued that plaintiff could not recover because he failed to satisfy policy conditions, including prompt notice, production of supporting records, preservation or exhibition of damaged property, production of his son’s phone records, and production of household members for examinations under oath.
ANALYSIS:
The Court held that factual disputes precluded summary judgment on the breach of contract claim, including disputes over substantial compliance, materiality of requested documents, timing of notice, and whether plaintiff could compel family members to appear for examinations. The same genuine dispute and the claim discrepancies gave State Farm an objectively reasonable basis to deny the claim, defeating the bad faith and negligent misrepresentation claims.
CONCLUSIONS:
State Farm’s motion for summary judgment was denied as to plaintiff’s breach of contract claim but granted as to breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, negligent misrepresentation, and punitive damages.
the Court DENIED State Farm's motion for summary judgment on plaintiff s breach of contract claim, GRANTSED State Farm's motion for summary judgment on plaintiffs claim for breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, GRANTED State Farm's motion for summary judgment on plaintiffs claim for negligent misrepresentation and GRANTED State Farm's motion for summary judgment on plaintiff s claim for punitive damages.
ZALMA OPINION
State Farm with a factual basis for concluding that its insured had committed fraud and denied the claim for breach of material conditions and for fraud was relieved of most of the lawsuit except breach of contract because the court applied the doctrine of "substantial compliance" although the reasons for its conclusion of fraud were obvious.
(c) 2026 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://gbarryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://Cwww.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the InsuranceClaims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote
Post 4576
Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00
In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:
To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.
The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...
Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise
Post 4574
In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.
An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).
LAW
According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...
Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds
Post 4573
Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).
THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT
Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.
The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...