An Assignment of Rights to Sue an Insurer Was a Poor Decision
Internet Failure Causes Loss to On Line Auction
See the video at https://lnkd.in/gQ-VMf6b and at https://lnkd.in/gfmkwby7, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5250 posts.
In Auto-Owners Insurance Company v. Halo Foundation: Helping Art Liberate Orphans, No. 25-1275, United States Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit (January 27, 2026) the Helping Art Liberate Orphans Foundation challenges Auto-Owners Mutual Insurance Company’s denial of liability under its insurance policy. HALO argued that a broken YouTube link for its virtual auction caused losses covered by the policy. The district court disagreed, granting summary judgment to AutoOwners.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
HALO, a non-profit organization, hosts an annual art auction. In 2022, it was virtual. To livestream it, HALO contracted with Paradise Productions KC, LLC and Qtego Fundraising Services. Paradise would handle the visual feed, Qtego the bidding software. Paradise created a YouTube link for attendees to view the livestream. Qtego, using the link, synced its software with the livestream. Synced, attendees could view the auction and place bids on one screen.
Minutes before the auction, Paradise lost connection to the internet at its studio. While short lived, the outage permanently broke the YouTube link, ending the connection between the visual feed and bidding software. Attendees could neither place bids nor view the auction. Improvising, HALO diverted the stream to Facebook Live, causing asynchronous visuals and bidding. HALO raised significantly less money than projected due to the broken link.
HALO threatened to sue Paradise for breach of contract and negligence. Unable to pay, Paradise assigned to HALO its claim against its insurer, AutoOwners.
THE POLICY
Auto-Owners’ general liability insurance policy covers “property damage,” including the “[l]oss of use of tangible property that is not physically injured.” The policy, however, excludes: “Damages arising out of the loss of, loss of use of, damage to, corruption of, inability to access, or inability to manipulate electronic data.”
Electronic data was defined as “information, facts or programs stored as or on, created or used on, or transmitted to or from computer software, including systems and applications software, . . . data processing devices or any other media which are used with electronically controlled equipment.”
In the district court, Auto-Owners sued for a declaratory judgment that no coverage exists for the outage. It argued, in part, coverage was barred by policy exclusions. The district court granted summary judgment for Auto-Owners, ruling that the electronic-data exclusion bars recovery. HALO appealed.
ANALYSIS
Insurance contracts are read as a whole to determine the intent of the parties, giving effect to that intent by enforcing the contract as written.
The central issue a court faced with the requirement to interpret contract language is determining whether any ambiguity exists, which occurs where there is duplicity, indistinctness, or uncertainty in the meaning of the words used in the contract. If the policy language is clear and unambiguous, it must be construed as written.
If ambiguities exist, courts construe them in favor of the insured, but only when a reasonable person would expect coverage under the policy terms.
Under Missouri law, the insured has the burden of proving coverage, and the insurer has the burden of proving that an exclusion applies.
HALO argued that the policy’s plain language covers its lost auction revenue. It asserted that the bidders’ inability to access the YouTube livestream on their electronic devices is a loss of tangible property that is not physically injured. The Eighth Circuit agreed with the trial court and concluded that the policy’s electronic-data exclusion bars recovery.
This provision excludes coverage for: “Damages arising out of the loss of, loss of use of, damage to, corruption of, inability to access, or inability to manipulate electronic data.” (emphasis added)
The exclusion’s plain language clearly and unambiguously bars HALO from coverage. The Eighth Circuit found that a policy must be enforced as written when its language is clear and unambiguous and concluded that the district court properly granted summary judgment and the judgment was affirmed.
ZALMA OPINION
When a party, like HALO, has a good case against a potential defendant it can resolve the dispute by settlement or litigation and collect its losses from the assets of the defendant or its insurer. Since the defendants did not have the assets to pay for HALO’s losses it offered to assign its rights against its insurer so that HALO could sue the insurer for freedom from a potential judgment. HALO took a chance, took the assignment and sued the insurer only to find it bought a pig in a poke because there was no coverage. No one should settle by taking an assignment against an insurer unless sure that coverage applies. HALO wasted its legal fees to sue AUTO-OWNERS.
(c) 2026 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the InsuranceClaims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...