Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
February 04, 2025
Claimed Misrepresentation About a Different Policy Irrelevant

Insurance Agent Has No Obligation to Investigate an Insured’s Coverage Needs

Post 4987

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gcrukZem, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g3VMWphi and at https://lnkd.in/gWSDQaQH, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4950 posts.

Plaintiff Liza Sims’ mother owned a house in Magalia, California, that was insured under a policy issued to her by Farmers Insurance. Before the Camp Fire, Sims lived alone in her mother’s house and operated a cosmetic tattoo business there. After the house was destroyed by a wildfire called the Camp Fire in 2018. The insurance company paid Sims’ mother the limits available under her policy but denied Sims’ claim for the loss of her personal and business property. Sims sued Farmers Group, Inc. (Farmers) and insurance agent Dawn Foster (Foster or agent) (collectively, defendants) for negligent misrepresentation and professional negligence.

In Liza Sims v. Farmers Group, Inc., et al., C097755, California Court of Appeals (January 24, 2025) Plaintiff attempted to get coverage for the destruction of business property from a homeowners policy the excluded such coverage.

Trial Court Ruling

The trial court ruled in favor of the defendants, stating that Sims’ claims were legally insufficient because she could not show harm from the agent’s alleged misrepresentations and could not prove the defendants owed or breached any duty of care.

Appeal

Sims appealed, arguing that the court erred. The appellate court affirmed the trial court’s decision.

Issues & Conclusions

Sims’ claims were based on alleged representations by Foster about the insurance coverage on the property.
The trial court concluded that Sims could not establish causation because Foster’s alleged misrepresentations pertained to a different insurance policy that was no longer in effect at the time of the Camp Fire.

Sims’ evidence was insufficient to create a triable issue of material fact.

The trial court also ruled that Sims could not establish Foster owed or breached a duty of care to Sims because the duties of an insurance agent run only to the client, and Sims was not Foster’s client.

The appellate court agreed with the trial court’s findings and affirmed the judgment.

Analysis

Negligent misrepresentation is a species of the tort of deceit. To prove negligent misrepresentation, a plaintiff must show (1) a misrepresentation of a past or existing material fact, (2) made without reasonable ground for believing it to be true, (3) with intent to induce another’s reliance on the fact misrepresented, (4) justifiable reliance on the misrepresentation by the party to whom it was directed, and (5) resulting damage.

Sims alleged that she had two in-person conversations with Foster, the agent, in 2013 and 2014 where she was led to believe her business property was covered. The trial court concluded that Sims could not establish the elements of causation (justifiable reliance and resulting damage) because Foster’s alleged misrepresentations pertain to coverage under an earlier homeowners’ insurance policy, which was replaced by the landlord policy in effect at the time of the fire, more than a year before the Camp Fire that damaged the house.

Disposition:

The judgment was affirmed, and the defendants were awarded their costs on appeal.

The trial court ruled in favor of the defendants because Sims’ claims were legally insufficient because Sims could not show harm from the agent’s alleged misrepresentations and could not prove the defendants owed or breached any duty of care.

In her deposition testimony and discovery responses, Sims admitted facts that directly contradicted the statements in her declaration in opposition to the motion for summary judgment.

Ordinarily, an insurance agent assumes only those duties normally found in any agency relationship. This includes the obligation to use reasonable care, diligence, and judgment in procuring the insurance requested by an insured. However, an insurance agent generally does not have a duty to investigate a customer’s coverage needs, to procure coverage to meet those needs, or to point out the advantages of additional or different insurance coverage.

The trial court properly ruled that because the underlying claims against Foster failed as a matter of law there could be no case against Farmers.

The judgment was affirmed and the defendants were allowed to recover their costs on appeal.

ZALMA OPINION

Insurance agents who do not take on the position of a fiduciary are basically order takers and are only obligated to obtain the insurance ordered. The fact that the agent may have told the plaintiff that her business property was covered by one policy – whether true or not – was not a misrepresentation about a subsequent policy totally different from the one in effect at the time of the fire. People really must read the policy before buying it and before making a claim or filing suit. The court did and the Plaintiff lost.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:08:19
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals