Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
February 03, 2025
Failure to Complete Reconstruction Timely Defeated Right to RCV Payment

When Claims are Fairly Debatable There is No Bad Faith
Post 4986

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gUnxtYNt, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g3Qbvh9G and at https://lnkd.in/gG3nfECc, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4950 posts.

Homeowners appealed from the district court’s denial of their breach-of-contract, consequential-damages, and bad-faith claims in Donnie Paul Bradley and Melanie Yvonne Bradley v. Allstate Insurance Company, No. 23-1397, Court of Appeals of Iowa on January 23, 2025 resolved the disputes.

BACKGROUND:

Donnie and Melanie Bradley appealed from the district court’s summary judgment ruling and final judgment following contractual disputes against Allstate Insurance Company. The Bradleys alleged errors in the district court’s interpretation of the insurance policy for their breach-of-contract claim and the granting of summary judgment to Allstate on their consequential damages and bad-faith claims. The dispute arose as a result of:

1. The Bradleys purchased an Allstate insurance policy in 2014 for their Cedar Rapids home.
2. The policy included actual cash value (ACV) and replacement cost value (RCV) coverage.
3. The August 2020 Derecho windstorm caused significant damage to their home.
4. The Bradleys reported the damage, and Allstate acknowledged the losses were covered under the policy.
5. The Bradleys, unhappy with Allstate, demanded appraisal in November 2020.
6. The parties signed an appraisal for the ACV in September 2021, and Allstate paid the Bradleys in accordance with the insurance policy.
7. The Bradleys claimed breach of contract for Allstate denying RCV coverage, alleged bad faith, and demanded consequential and punitive damages.
8. The Bradleys spent more on repairs than Allstate paid out and they continued with litigation.
9. The Bradleys ultimately paid for the repairs by refinancing their home to establish a home equity line of credit and taking out a loan against a retirement account.
10. Allstate was to reimburse the Bradleys for repair costs in excess of ACV-the equivalent of the RCV-if repairs were completed within 180 days of the ACV payment.

CLAIMS AND PROCEEDINGS:

The district court granted summary judgment to Allstate on the consequential damages and bad-faith claims but denied it for the breach-of-contract claim.
The Bradleys withdrew their request for a jury trial, and Allstate eventually paid the RCV from the appraisal.

APPEAL:

The Court of Appeals upheld the district court’s decision that consequential damages were not available under Iowa law.
The Court of Appeals agreed with the district court that the bad-faith claim was fairly debatable and that the Bradleys did not set forth a valid bad-faith claim.

DISPOSITION:

The question of whether the Bradleys were entitled to RCV payments was found to be fairly debatable as a matter of law. The Court concluded that the undisputed facts establish that there was no unreasonable delay in the ACV payment. Allstate reasonably disputed coverage as to the RCV payments on the basis that the explicit terms of the policy require repair to be completed for an RCV payment to be made.

The claim was, in the opinion of the Court of Appeals, fairly debatable because replacement was not completed within 180 days of the ACV payment. The Court of Apeals concluded that the Bradleys could not succeed on their bad faith claim.

ZALMA OPINION

The Iowa Court of Appeals educated the Bradleys and their counsel holding that an insurance policy is a contract with conditions. The Allstate policy provided, as a condition, that to receive the difference between ACV payment and the RCV the repairs must be completed within 180 days of the ACV payment. Although there was a dispute over when the repairs were completed Allstate paid both the ACV and the RCV making the entire claim moot and the other claimed damages were fairly debatable and no evidence to support a bad faith claim.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:07:33
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals