When Insurer Settles Claim Against Insured for Less Than Policy Limits it Fulfills its Obligations Under the Policy
Post 4916
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gHuD6iUt, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gnUkfHjP and at https://lnkd.in/gabuJACD and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4900 posts.
Raymond Kvalvog challenged the dismissal of his claims against his insurer, Secura Supreme Insurance Company. Kvalvog argued that his complaint states a claim upon which relief can be granted because it alleges Secura (1) breached its duty of good faith by failing to inform Kvalvog of his right to withdraw from the liability coverage he invoked and take over his defense, (2) breached its duty of good faith by failing to properly evaluate the claims against Kvalvog, and (3) failed to pay Kvalvog $17,500 in uninsured-motorist benefits.
In Raymond Kvalvog v. Secura Supreme Insurance Company, No. A24-0226, Court of Appeals of Minnesota (October 14, 2024) the Court of Appeals resolved the allegations.
FACTS
After a tragic automobile accident where Kvalvog’s son was driving an automobile as part of a high school athletic trip. The passengers in the automobile included Kvalvog’s other son and Mark Schwandt. As a result of the accident, Kvalvog’s sons died and Schwandt was injured. At the time of the accident, Secura provided automobile insurance coverage to Kvalvog that included liability coverage.
Kvalvog brought a wrongful-death action against, among others, the school and a coach who was driving a different vehicle as part of the school trip only to lose.
Schwandt later commenced a separate action against Kvalvog, the school, the coach, and Schwandt’s own insurer (the underlying action), asserting in part that Kvalvog was liable for Schwandt’s substantial injuries. Kvalvog tendered the defense of the underlying action to Secura, which appointed a lawyer to defend Kvalvog. The case settled with Secura paying less than the policy limits in exchange for a release of all claims against Kvalvog.
The district court granted Secura’s motion reasoning that Secura had the right to settle the claims against Kvalvog, did so within his policy limits.
Kvalvog asserts that his complaint supports three theories of liability, the first two of which are premised on Secura’s claimed breach of its duty of good faith.
The district court granted Secura’s motion to dismiss, determining that Secura did not breach their duty of good faith by settling the claims at mediation within policy limits and that the complaint did not state a viable claim for $17,500 in uninsured-motorist benefits.
DECISION
A complaint is subject to dismissal if it fails to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. Kvalvog’s complaint fails to state a legally sufficient claim that Secura breached its duty of good faith.
An insurance policy, like other contracts, is governed by its terms. But Minnesota law imposes an additional duty of good faith on a liability insurer that assumes control of the right of settlement of claims against its insured. This duty arises because an insured and insurer may have conflicting interests, with an insurer being obligated to represent an insured’s best interests and to defend and indemnify while also wanting settlement at the lowest possible figure. An insurer’s right to control the negotiations for settlement must be subordinated to the purpose of the insurance contract-to defend and indemnify the insured within the limits of the insurance contract
Secura Did Not Have A Duty To Inform Kvalvog That He Could Withdraw From The Coverage He Invoked.
A liability insurer’s duty of good faith springs from the purpose of the insurance contract-to defend and indemnify the insured within the limits of the insurance contract. If an insured is clearly liable the insurer must attempt to settle with the injured party. A liability insurer’s obligations are tethered to a purpose: protecting an insured’s financial interests and ensuring that the insured receives the full benefits it is entitled to under the policy.
Creating the duty advanced by Kvalvog would do the opposite. Such a duty would run counter to an insurer’s other rights and obligations.
Secura Is Not Liable For Any Failure To Investigate.
Kvalvog has not stated a claim for a breach of the duty of good faith on which relief can be granted. Kvalvog’s theories of liability, failing to advise him that he could fire the appointed lawyer, are not viable under Minnesota law.
Kvalvog’s Complaint Fails To State A Legally Sufficient Claim For Uninsuredmotorist Benefits.
Without an identified liability theory, the complaint does not provide fair notice of the basis for Kvalvog’s uninsured motorist claim. It was appropriately dismissed.
ZALMA OPINION
Liability insurance provides for a defense of the insured. It does not, nor should it, provide for the insured’s attempt to gain a judgment against a third party or UM coverage when the responsible party is insured. No good deed was punished – Secura settled the claim against Kvalvog only to be sued for doing what the policy required it to do.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe OR Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...