Insurer Not Obligated to Commit Insurance Claims Suicide
Barry Zalma
Sep 21, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/grFd6ZjY and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gDjUUgRp and at https://lnkd.in/g8tPs8mC and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4600 posts.
In Benjamin D. Markuson, Erik Saterbo, and Stephen Saterbo v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, an Illinois corporation; Crawford Law Group, P.A., a Florida corporation; and Larry Walker, No. 2D21-2443, Florida Court of Appeals, Second District (September 15, 2023)
Benjamin Markuson and Erik and Stephen Saterbo appealed the of summary judgment based upon the trial court’s conclusion that State Farm was under no legal duty to its insured to accept any or all of the three proposals for settlement made by Mr. Markuson.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
The underlying case arises from a 2006 automobile accident involving Erik Saterbo and Mr. Markuson. At the time of the accident, Erik was operating a vehicle owned by his father, Stephen. Due to his injuries, Mr. Markuson sued the Saterbo. The Saterbos had an insurance policy with State Farm which provided policy limits of $300,000.00 against liability for bodily injuries sustained in an auto accident. And on January 15, 2009, State Farm authorized the Crawford Law Group, P.A.-the firm retained by State Farm to defend the Saterbos-to make a settlement offer to Mr. Markuson to resolve his case for the policy limits. The offer was not accepted.
Instead, in 2011 and 2012, Mr. Markuson issued two settlement offers to State Farm’s insureds (the first, oral; the second, written) that were largely indistinguishable in their terms. In pertinent part, Mr. Markuson’s offer would have required State Farm to (1) tender the $300,000.00 policy limits to Mr. Markuson; (2) authorize State Farm’s insureds to enter into a consent judgment in the amount of $1.9 million that would not be recorded or enforced against the Saterbos; and (3) authorize the Saterbos to assign their rights in any claims against their insurance agent. In return, Mr. Markuson would execute a release of all his claims against the Saterbos and a satisfaction of the aforementioned consent judgment. The proposal made no indication that State Farm would be released from any bad faith liability. State Farm declined to accept these proposals, and the case continued to trial. Following a jury trial, Mr. Markuson recovered a total of $3,084,074.00, a sum considerably greater than the coverage afforded.
The settlement offers by Mr. Markuson formed the basis of a bad faith complaint against State Farm where Markuson and the Saterbos sued with a seven count complaint against State Farm, Crawford Law Group, P.A., and Larry Walker-State Farm’s agent. The alleged bad faith occurred when State Farm failed to settle the personal injury action by declining three of Mr. Markuson’s proposals for settlement.
The trial court concluded that State Farm had no duty to enter into a consent judgment that was in excess of the policy limits “as a matter of law.” The trial court found that “each of the three proposals exposed State Farm to extracontractual claims or payment” and that nothing suggested State Farm would be released by entering into the proposed consent judgments. It further found that State Farm never withdrew its offer of the policy limits. Thus, the trial court determined that “State Farm did not act in bad faith when it did not agree to or negotiate with respect to any of the three proposals.”
DISCUSSION
Here, the thrust of the bad faith case turns on State Farm’s refusal to enter into an agreement-that is, State Farm, in the plaintiffs’ view, had a duty to authorize its insureds to consent to a judgment more than five times the amount of the policy limit (thereby expediting the availability of a bad faith claim) and to do so without releasing State Farm from liability. Florida law is clear that an insurer has no duty to enter into such an agreement. There is no duty because entering into a consent judgment, for purposes of expediting bad faith litigation, is indeed the ‘functional equivalent’ of an excess judgment. The obligation to negotiate and settle claims on behalf of its insured is defined by and bounded within the insurance contract itself; an insurer does not ordinarily have a duty to pay a claim in excess of a policy’s limit.
CONCLUSION
The Florida Court of Appeals concluded that, as a matter of law, the trial court correctly determined that State Farm had no duty to enter such an agreement. Thus, where there was no duty to accept the proposals, declining the proposals could not serve as the basis of the bad faith claim. The circuit court erred by entering a final judgment in favor of State Farm to the extent the plaintiffs’ claims raised other theories of bad faith and remanded the case to trial on the other issues.
ZALMA OPINION
Liability insurance is a means of protecting against the risk of loss for accidentally injuring a third person up to the limits of the policy. Insurers have no obligation to expose themselves to an excess verdict and the court of appeals concluded that State Farm had no duty because entering into a consent judgment, for purposes of expediting bad faith litigation, would force the insurer to pay an excess judgment when its only contractual obligation was to defend its insured and, if there is a judgement, to pay the full limit of liability. To accept the offer that the plaintiff suggested as evidence of bad faith would be to commit financial suicide and violate the clear terms of its policy.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf or at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g, Go to LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gYq44VM
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...