Suing for Unfair Competition and an Injunction to Avoid Private Limitation of Action Provision Dismissed
Barry Zalma
Jul 21, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gweU4EEp, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gJJmw4zF and at https://lnkd.in/gRpzFsBu; and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.
Katherine Rosenberg-Wohl had a homeowners insurance policy with State Farm Fire and Casualty Company (State Farm), providing coverage on her home in San Francisco. The policy has a limitation provision that requires lawsuits to be “started within one year after the date of loss or damage.”
In Katherine Rosenberg-Wohl v. State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, A163848, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (July 11, 2023) she sought indemnity to remedy a defect in the home. State Farm refused to pay because there was no insurable event and because the suit was filed more than a year after the alleged loss.
FACTS
In late 2018 or early 2019, plaintiff noticed that on two occasions an elderly neighbor stumbled and fell as she descended plaintiff’s outside staircase and learned that the pitch of the stairs had changed and that to make the stairs safe the staircase needed to be replaced. In late April 2019, plaintiff authorized the work and contacted State Farm, and on August 9, she submitted a claim for the money she had spent.
The denial was based on the investigation findings and concluded there was no evidence of a covered cause for accidental direct physical damage to the property. The denial also stated that the policy does not provide coverage for preventative nor safety measures to the property. Maintenance would be the responsibility of the property owner to properly maintain the property to keep it safe.
Plaintiff submitted a claim to State Farm for her construction expenses, which by then were approximately $52,600, with another $16,800 in anticipated expenses for additional work. By letter dated August 26-plaintiff alleged, without any investigation-State Farm denied the claim. The letter also specifically referenced “the suit limitation period” as a “policy defense.”
Plaintiff filed two lawsuits against State Farm in San Francisco Superior Court. One alleged two causes of action for breach of the policy and for bad faith. That lawsuit was removed to federal court and was resolved against plaintiff on a motion to dismiss based on the one-year limitation provision. It is currently on appeal in the Ninth Circuit.
The second suit before the the Superior Court purports to allege a claim for violation of California’s unfair competition law. This case was also resolved against plaintiff, also based on the limitation provision, when the trial court sustained a demurrer to the second amended complaint without leave to amend. Plaintiff appealed.
On October 22, 2020-some 18 months after she had replaced the staircase, 14 months after State Farm had denied her claim the first time, and nearly six months after the one-year limitation period of the policy had expired-plaintiff filed two lawsuits in San Francisco County Superior Court.
On April 20, 2021, Judge Massullo sustained the demurrer with leave to amend to add additional facts supporting waiver. On May 21, plaintiff filed a second amended complaint (SAC), adding, apparently without leave of court, a claim for false advertising. The SAC then states, again in capitalized boldface, that “This Is Not A Lawsuit For Damages For Breach Of Contract; Rather It Is A Challenge To How State Farm Does Business.”
State Farm filed a demurrer and a motion to strike the SAC. On July 29, Judge Massullo entered her order sustaining the demurrer without leave to amend, a comprehensive order indeed, eight pages of thoughtful analysis. She held that “the Court is persuaded that Plaintiff’s claims are nonetheless ‘on the policy’ because they are ‘grounded upon [State Farm’s] failure to pay policy benefits.’” She also concluded that “[a]ll of the alleged acts which form the basis of Plaintiff’s claims occurred during the claim handling process.” Finally, Judge Massullo held that State Farm had not waived the limitation provision.
DISCUSSION
The one-year limitation provision in the State Farm policy is there because it was required by statute. [Califonria Insurance Code section 2071] The one-year limitation provisions have long been held valid as mandated by statute.
The One-Year Policy Limitation Provision Applies
State Farm asserted that “the Legislature has expressly endorsed the provision under Insurance Code section 2071” and argued that because the allegations here all concern how it handled plaintiff’s claim, the suit is subject to the policy limitation period under applicable law. In sum, the crux of plaintiff’s claim is grounded upon a failure to pay policy benefits.
An insured cannot plead around the one-year limitations provision by labeling her cause of action something different than breach of contract which, of course, includes claims for bad faith. Conduct by the insurer after the limitation period has run cannot, as a matter of law, amount to a waiver or estoppel.
The policy requires any waiver to be in writing. Plaintiff does not allege State Farm agreed to waive anything in writing. Therefore, the judgment was affirmed and State Farm was allowed to recover its costs on appeal.
ZALMA OPINION
The Court of Appeal spent many pages resolving this fairly simple dispute. The plaintiff sued to collect benefits she believed were owed under a policy of insurance only to find that the suit was filed to late. To avoid that problem she amended the suit to allege unfair business practices and sought an injunction, all of which were seen to be an alternative way to obtain policy benefits and failed again. For more than 120 years the California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal have upheld the private limitation of action provision required by statute and no amount of creative pleading can avoid its effect.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library. the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.
Subscribe to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.
Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...